1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with "stretched graphics" (aspect ratio?) on my windows vista desktop

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by ufohunter23, Aug 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ufohunter23

    ufohunter23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Hi all, I recently had a computer crash and unfortunately had to "factory reset" it to restore it. Now the problem is my graphics and words are out of whack, they appear "stretched". (The aspect ratio I guess?). Anyways, I've been desperately trying to solve this problem and get everything on the screen back to the way it looked (perfect) before the crash. It is a Dell desktop, windows vista, and I believe I'm running windows 8? I haven't been able to figure out or fix this problem as I'm not that computer savvy, and I don't want to make it any worse. Any and all help would be GREATLY appreciated in fixing this problem.

    :confused: Thank you.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. ufohunter23

    ufohunter23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Hi again friends, can anybody help me with this problem? Desperate.
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,837
    First Name:
    David
    Have you checked to see if you have the correct Resolution selected for your graphic card?
     
  5. ufohunter23

    ufohunter23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Dave, how would I do that? As I said I'm not that computer literate. Thank you for replying.
     
  6. ufohunter23

    ufohunter23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Also, when I reboot my system, my screen has moved to the right? Leaving about a 2 inch gap on the left side? Obviously my ratio is off somewhere? Can someone please help fix this situation....Please
     
  7. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,837
    First Name:
    David
    You need to know what the needed Resolution that is needed for your monitor.

    What is the make and model of this monitor?

    Yes, I did receive your PM and per the rules of this site ALL support is to be provide within the threads.
     
  8. ufohunter23

    ufohunter23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Dave, the make of the computer is a Dell Inspiron 530 with original Dell monitor. Sorry I apologize, I didn't see that in the rules.
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,531
    First Name:
    Frank
    What is the "service tag" number and/or "express service code" number on your Dell Inspiron 530 desktop?

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. ufohunter23

    ufohunter23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Frank, the service tag is 5NPJXF1 and the express service code is 12317553901
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,531
    First Name:
    Frank
    Here is the Dell support site that's assigned only to your Dell Inspiron 530 desktop.

    You should add and save this site in your browser's favorites/bookmarks list so you can readily refer to it when needed.

    According to its system summary, it shipped in March 2008 and came with Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit.

    According to its filtered drivers list, it has these primary devices:

    Intel G31/G33/Q33/Q35 Graphics

    Realtek ALC888 High Definition Audio

    Intel 825xx 10/100 Ethernet


    All these devices are supported by and have drivers for Windows XP and Windows Vista and Windows 7.

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    How exactly did you do a "factory reset"?

    Is that desktop still using its integrated Intel graphics device, or have you upgraded it to a graphics card?

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Go to Control Panel - Device Manager.

    Click the + in the Display Adapters heading.

    What's the exact description of the device listed there?

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. ufohunter23

    ufohunter23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Frank, when I did what you asked it says "intel(R)G33/G31 Express Chip Family"

    Also, I believe it's using it's integrated Intel graphics device as I never remember upgrading to a graphics card.
     
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,531
    First Name:
    Frank
    Now that we've confirmed the description of the graphics device in that computer, we need to confirm the Windows version that's running in it.

    Is it running Windows Vista or Windows 7 or Windows 8, 32-bit or 64-bit?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. ufohunter23

    ufohunter23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    When I checked under system properties it said:

    Windows Edition
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    copyright 2007 Microsoft Corporation
    Service Pack 2

    System Type: 32-bit operating system
     
  15. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,531
    First Name:
    Frank
    Go into the Device Manager.

    Click the + in Display Adapters

    Double-click the Intel G33/G31 Express Chip Family entry to open its properties window.

    Click the Driver tab.

    What's listed for the driver date and driver version?

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    The most current Windows Vista 32-bit driver for that graphics device is 7.15.10.1666 and was released on or about 03/05/2009.

    If that graphics device in your computer has an older driver version, installing the newer version may give you more resolution options.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,531
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the model number of the Dell monitor that's connected to that computer?

    What's listed in the Monitors heading in the Device Manager?

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    These Dell monitor model numbers are listed in the driver downloads for your computer:

    S1909WXWFP

    S2009Wb

    S2209WFP

    S2309WFP

    S2409WFP

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Problem stretched graphics
  1. truecrime
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    361
  2. DandelionSteph
    Replies:
    22
    Views:
    1,370
  3. oldjunk
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    507
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1131930

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice