1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with THPS4

Discussion in 'Games' started by ProSkater4, Aug 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ProSkater4

    ProSkater4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    So guys, I'm trying to play THPS4 and when I'm going to start the game appears some error saying.

    "THPS4 failed to launch. The system appears to be out of memory or resources."

    My PC has about 4 years old and in the first year that I received it I installed THPS4 and played it really well. But like all the games, I mastered it and unistalled but now I feel like playing the game again and this error occurs :(

    I hope you guys could give me some help, I searched for troubleshooting for this a lot and I couldn't solve it.


    dxdiag report:

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 9200M GE
    Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Chip type: GeForce 9200M GE
    DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_06E8&SUBSYS_360B103C&REV_A1
    Display Memory: 1521 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 243 MB
    Shared Memory: 1278 MB
    Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Monitor PnP Genérico
    Driver Name: nvd3dum.dll,nvwgf2um.dll
    Driver Version: 7.15.0011.7597 (English)
    DDI Version: 10
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 6/9/2008 23:23:00, 5877760 bytes

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 8/11/2012, 12:55:26
    Machine name: -----------
    Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6001) Service Pack 1 (6001.vistasp1_gdr.101014-0432)
    Language: Portuguese (Regional Setting: Portuguese)
    System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
    System Model: Compaq Presario CQ60 Notebook PC
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T3400 @ 2.16GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
    Memory: 3068MB RAM
    Page File: 1406MB used, 2564MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 10
    DX Setup Parameters: None
    DxDiag Version: 6.00.6001.18000 32bit Unicode


    I really hope you guys can help me with this, if you can help, I'd really love :D
     
  2. ProSkater4

    ProSkater4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Anyone? Please?
     
  3. tom6049

    tom6049

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    By "THPS4" and your name, I'll assume that you mean Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4.
    That's a pretty old game....well before Windows Vista.
    If you've already searched for a fix, you've found that it doesn't run on Vista.
    I've used VMLite XP Mode for older games and have had good success...maybe this will work for Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4.
     
  4. ProSkater4

    ProSkater4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Didn't solve it ...
     
  5. Techy1234

    Techy1234

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Hello ProSkater

    Did you get any error/issue when you tried the VMLite XP mode.

    Can you confirm that when you played the game before, it was on another OS other then Visa. Vista does eat up allot of RAM. A computer that has 3GB may dedicate allot of it to Vista.

    Does the issue occur when you try to install the game or run the game (you mentioned that you uninstalled it in the past). Try to do a disk defragementation for better optimization.

    You can also go into msconfig and stop any unneccessary processes running to free up some more system resources and see if that helps.

    Other then that, you can also upgrade your RAM and try the VMLite XP mode again and see if that solves the issue.
     
  6. tom6049

    tom6049

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    The issue must be with your PC and not the game itself.
    I tested the Tony Hahk Pro Skater 4 demo in Windows 7 64bit
    and within VMLite XP Mode and it played perfectly in both.

    Maybe try updating the 4+ year old video drivers.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064694