1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with Update Checker

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Arizonaguy, Dec 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Arizonaguy

Arizonaguy Thread Starter

I've used File Hippo update checker for several weeks after somebody installed it for me. Every time I opened it there was something to update. Good, so far. Then there was nothing in there. Being a novice, I thought there was something wrong so I uninstalled and reinstalled it. Now I can't even open it. I'm not very good at installing programs - should I click on something after it's installed to get it started?

One of the hidden icons has the icon with a statement that there are no updates to download. Does that mean that if there is a download available I will be able to open the update checker with the desktop shortcut?

The tech who installed ir originally is no longer working with computers. Hope I'm explaining this clearly and am in the right forum.

2. mel8again

mel8again

I assume this icon is in the system tray by the clock. It means the program is running and at the moment there are no updates. Updates don't come out every day. If your video card was updated (or anything else) there might not be another one for months or maybe never. If you double click on the icon it should open the program on the desktop for you.

3. Arizonaguy

There is a hidden icon in the systems tray and clicking on it did bring up the update checker page saying there are no updates to download - so thanks for that! Any idea why the desktop icon doesn't open in the same way like it used to?

4. mel8again

mel8again

I have no idea. Try going to Start, All Programs and see if there is anything listed for file hippo undate checker.

5. Arizonaguy

Yes, it's there.