1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with US Robotics USR5660A 56K PCI Faxmodem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by arridian, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. arridian

    arridian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    In my device manager, I have a listing that says "Other Devices" with a yellow question mark. When I click the plus sign to open the menu, it has a yellow question mark with an exclamation point on it, and it says "PCI Simple Communications Controller".

    After searching for a long time, I discovered that the hardware in question is a US Robotics USR5660A 56K PCI Faxmodem. I have tried downloading the appropriate drivers for it, and selecting "update driver" and directing it toward the unzipped folder where the driver is, but it does not solve the problem. I emailed US Robotics, and they said to scroll through "available IRQ's", and I tried to look for them, but he may as well been speaking a foreign language to me. As far as opening my computer, I am admittedly a total n00b, and would prefer a software solution if possible.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. rkowatch

    rkowatch

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    my advice would be buy a new modem lmao... i had that modem and it worked for six months... then wouldn't connect above 28.8K and that's if i was lucky, bought a new modem... BAM 48K
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What OS?
     
  4. rkowatch

    rkowatch

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    are you like me and in an area where broadband isn't available?

    oh yeah and according to his pc profile he's running Windows XP Home SP2
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  6. arridian

    arridian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the tip, Elvandil, but the driver didn't work :( actually, I am on broadband, but having the "?" in my device manager bugs me. lol I don't know why it has been acting up lately.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Are you positive about the model? That driver is from USR. Is it loose in its slot? Can you try another?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/704532

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice