1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems doing a clean install of Win 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by holymoly, Nov 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    After many problems with Vista, I got Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit version for free from the college. :)

    My PC is only 3 years old and with 4 GB RAM and AMD quad processer, so I feel confident with installing Win 7 64 bit version even though the Win 7 upgrade advisor couldn't run in Vista, again Vista problems.

    SO I decided to do a clean install 7.

    I use the set up and it does an update then asks which partition or HD to use. It did find the SP1 during the update process.Then it goes through about 5 minutes of gathering files and then, it comes back to the Install screen as if to do it all over.

    I then did a restart, and the Windows 7 flash screen appeared followed by an error message "installation could not be started"


    This is strange.

    What is happening?
     
  2. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    I would suspect the copy of windows. When you said you got it free from College, Is this a Genuine Windows Disc from Microsoft or one of the authorized by Microsoft downloads?
     
  3. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Rest assured its a legitcopy downlaoded from the colege's website.

    I presume the installer issues within Vista is preventing me from doing an upgrade or custome install to windows 7.

    So now I am using the Vista disc not to repair but do a clean install, and that jsut happened now.

    From this will do Win 7 install.
     
  4. Byrone4807

    Byrone4807

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Make sure if you are doing the custom install that you choose the right HD to install it on. There is always an unallocated part of your HD set aside on windows, and its not very big.
     
  5. Byrone4807

    Byrone4807

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    also it reboots after updates and contines dont touch it till it finishes loading updates.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Problems doing clean
  1. garethm379
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    623
  2. pavlosnumerouno
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    1,255
  3. Riverglen
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    541
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028568

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice