1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems installing XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by viperms2005, Jan 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. viperms2005

    viperms2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Ok so I just built a new computer and everything is plugged in correctly. I reformated the hard drive and tried to install Windows XP. The reformatting was fine. The problem is when I tried to install XP. I get the following message during the installation:

    Right now the machine has an AMD Athlon 64 processor with one gig of memory in it,
     
  2. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    It could be memory. If your 1GB memory is on two sticks of 512MB, try removing one and then the other to see if the stop error gets resolved.

    Another possibility is if you're using a SATA drive, you might need to install the SATA drivers before continuing the XP install. (Early in the installation, there is a message to hit F6 if you need to install special drivers).
     
  3. Adeyan

    Adeyan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I think its a driver issue, something to do with giving wrong I/O instructions. Possibily your video card. ATI Radeon video adapter used to give that error on Windows 2000, not sure about XP.
     
  4. viperms2005

    viperms2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    My one gig of memory is on one stick and I'm using an IDE hard drive. I'm also using the onboard video so I don't think it could be the video card. Do you guys have any other explanations for this?
     
  5. Iceworx

    Iceworx

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Its a memory problem, try replacing it with a friends memory stick to see if it solves it, if so have the memory replaced.
     
  6. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Go here http://www.memtest.org/ This can be put on a floppy or the iso to a CD. Boot from either and run program to test your memory.
     
  7. viperms2005

    viperms2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks everybody. I just got 212992 errors with my current memory stick. I guess I have to get another one.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536647

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice