Problems WIN 98 reformatting hard drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RKMole

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
283
Hello & Happy New Year!
When I try to reformat my hard drive I run into this problem:

A:\Format C:/s
checking existing disk format
16% completed
Insufficient Memory

What's wrong?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
It will probably work if you use the format command without the /s. Just do format c:
When you install windows it will copy the system files at the time of install

Are you using a startup disk to start the machine, that message generally occurs when there isn't enough conventional memory to copy the system files onto the drive. Programs that run for the config.sys and autoexec.bat will use up the memory if not using a startup disk
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Are you doing this from a boot disk or from Windows? MAke a bootable diskette with format.com and fdisk on it and boot to that. Then try your format C: /s
 

RKMole

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
283
Hi

When I tried the format c without the s this is wwhat I got:
Proceed w/ format Y
checking existing disk format
Recording current bad clusters
Complete
Verifying 13,03.09 M
8%
Not ready
format teminated
D:/>C:
C:\>DIR
we got a gobbedly gook listing -looked like hyeroglyphics
28 ffiles 19.266.96 MB
29 dir 782,16 MB free

I'm stuck. Help please!
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
Assuming you have a good boot disk, it sounds like time to start from scratch. Boot to your floppy boot disk, at the A: prompt type in fdisk and follow the instructions that appear on the screen. This will completely repartition and clean the drive. Once you have completed this you will be prompted to restart your computer. Restart with the floppy then format C: and you should be on your way.

Hope it helps.
 

RKMole

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
283
hanks for all your help. We have been booting up w/ a start up disk. We now have scan disk working. It fixed the directory it says, but it's been stuck at 3% doing files. I think that must indicate we still have a problem since it's taking so long.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
149
Like they suggested, when you boot into
dos try to start from scratch. type:
fdisk
and press enter. Go for the large disk option.
Go to the delete partition.
delete all partitions that are here.
go to create a partition.
make a primary partition.
escape after partition is made.
reboot with startup disk.
type at the a prompt:
format c:
and press enter. After format reboot with startup
disk using cd-rom option. Go to cdrom by typing:
e:
and press enter. insert win cd and type:
setup
and press enter.
 

RKMole

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
283
Hi again
I got to the delete partitions and all but the primary are not there. So when I tried to delete the primary partition I can't because it asks for the volume label and the only one I know of is the one that is showing above on the screen and it says 8] and then it's followed by all these symbols that I don't see on my keyboard. YIKES!
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
Only a suggestion,
Do you have an emergency recovery disk from your virus scanning software? This very well could be the remnants of a virus.
If not, the hard drive may just be fried.
Anyone, correct me if you see something else!

SeYa
 

RKMole

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
283
I have a Norton Antivirus Basic Rescue Boot. Problem is I'm not sure if it's for the desktop or this Powerbook that we're working on. Will it hurt anything if I try it and it isn't the right one? Also do I use it just like the start up disk?
Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
149
Don't know about the anti-virus disk. Perhaps
someone else can help on that.
Have you tried the command:
fdisk /mbr
? This will restore the mbr.
The other thing I was wondering is, while you
were in fdisk delete partition and it had only the
one partition and it asked which partition you
wanted to delete, since there was only one
could you just hit enter to see if it would default
to the one partition?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2001
Messages
68
i had a very similar problem last week. no matter what i did i couldn't format my hard drive, so i ended up brining it to the store where i bought it and they had to replace the hd(under warrenty) i hope you can solve your peoblem
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
I had a similar problem with fdisk (funky symbols) and grabbed a util off the manufacturers website to write zeros to the drive. I was then able to partition and format with no probs.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top