1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems WIN 98 reformatting hard drive

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by RKMole, Jan 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RKMole

    RKMole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    283
    Hello & Happy New Year!
    When I try to reformat my hard drive I run into this problem:

    A:\Format C:/s
    checking existing disk format
    16% completed
    Insufficient Memory

    What's wrong?
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    It will probably work if you use the format command without the /s. Just do format c:
    When you install windows it will copy the system files at the time of install

    Are you using a startup disk to start the machine, that message generally occurs when there isn't enough conventional memory to copy the system files onto the drive. Programs that run for the config.sys and autoexec.bat will use up the memory if not using a startup disk
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Are you doing this from a boot disk or from Windows? MAke a bootable diskette with format.com and fdisk on it and boot to that. Then try your format C: /s
     
  4. RKMole

    RKMole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    283
    Hi

    When I tried the format c without the s this is wwhat I got:
    Proceed w/ format Y
    checking existing disk format
    Recording current bad clusters
    Complete
    Verifying 13,03.09 M
    8%
    Not ready
    format teminated
    D:/>C:
    C:\>DIR
    we got a gobbedly gook listing -looked like hyeroglyphics
    28 ffiles 19.266.96 MB
    29 dir 782,16 MB free

    I'm stuck. Help please!
     
  5. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    Assuming you have a good boot disk, it sounds like time to start from scratch. Boot to your floppy boot disk, at the A: prompt type in fdisk and follow the instructions that appear on the screen. This will completely repartition and clean the drive. Once you have completed this you will be prompted to restart your computer. Restart with the floppy then format C: and you should be on your way.

    Hope it helps.
     
  6. RKMole

    RKMole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    283
    hanks for all your help. We have been booting up w/ a start up disk. We now have scan disk working. It fixed the directory it says, but it's been stuck at 3% doing files. I think that must indicate we still have a problem since it's taking so long.
     
  7. deanas

    deanas

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Like they suggested, when you boot into
    dos try to start from scratch. type:
    fdisk
    and press enter. Go for the large disk option.
    Go to the delete partition.
    delete all partitions that are here.
    go to create a partition.
    make a primary partition.
    escape after partition is made.
    reboot with startup disk.
    type at the a prompt:
    format c:
    and press enter. After format reboot with startup
    disk using cd-rom option. Go to cdrom by typing:
    e:
    and press enter. insert win cd and type:
    setup
    and press enter.
     
  8. RKMole

    RKMole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    283
    Hi again
    I got to the delete partitions and all but the primary are not there. So when I tried to delete the primary partition I can't because it asks for the volume label and the only one I know of is the one that is showing above on the screen and it says 8] and then it's followed by all these symbols that I don't see on my keyboard. YIKES!
     
  9. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    Only a suggestion,
    Do you have an emergency recovery disk from your virus scanning software? This very well could be the remnants of a virus.
    If not, the hard drive may just be fried.
    Anyone, correct me if you see something else!

    SeYa
     
  10. RKMole

    RKMole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    283
    I have a Norton Antivirus Basic Rescue Boot. Problem is I'm not sure if it's for the desktop or this Powerbook that we're working on. Will it hurt anything if I try it and it isn't the right one? Also do I use it just like the start up disk?
    Thanks
     
  11. deanas

    deanas

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Don't know about the anti-virus disk. Perhaps
    someone else can help on that.
    Have you tried the command:
    fdisk /mbr
    ? This will restore the mbr.
    The other thing I was wondering is, while you
    were in fdisk delete partition and it had only the
    one partition and it asked which partition you
    wanted to delete, since there was only one
    could you just hit enter to see if it would default
    to the one partition?
     
  12. ian.p.h

    ian.p.h

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    i had a very similar problem last week. no matter what i did i couldn't format my hard drive, so i ended up brining it to the store where i bought it and they had to replace the hd(under warrenty) i hope you can solve your peoblem
     
  13. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    I had a similar problem with fdisk (funky symbols) and grabbed a util off the manufacturers website to write zeros to the drive. I was then able to partition and format with no probs.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63892

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice