problems with AOL 9.0

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DeniseNelson

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
29
Hi,
I wasn't sure where to ask this question so I'll try here. This is actually a problem with my father's computer. We installed Norton Antivirus 2004 on his computer a couple weeks ago. He says he's having problems getting on to AOL (he upgraded to AOL 9.0 fairly recently.) If he disables Norton it works. Any suggestions would be appreciated. By the way. He is running Windows 98.

Denise
 
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
379
Not sure if you played around with your norton settings, but keep them in the default position for now to see if aol works. You may have the protection too high. If that's not the case try reinstalling norton and aol again.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Norton is not the probelm. AOL is the probelm. There are better ISP's out there the AOL. As you can tell I do not like AOL. I could never stay connected, Tech Support was no help. I went to a $9.95 a month ISP and had for better service then I ever got with AOL.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
36
Check to see how much RAM that machine has on it. Running Win98 I would guess you are around 128MB, 256MB if your lucky. Then see how many TSRs are running in the background (CTRL+ALT +DEL once and count how many items are in that list) and if it's more then 7 or so then I would say taking out TSRs would be a good place to start...

AOL is a memory HOG and Norton is no slouch...
 

DeniseNelson

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
29
Thanks everyone for your help. I'm going to my dad's this weekend and hopefully we can get his machine to work.

Denise
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
1
I am working on a computer for a friend and every time that we try to browse the internet while logged onto AOL 9.0 it comes up with an error stating the the memory is too low or the hard drive is messed up. Is there an on going issue with AOL or could it be a corrupted file with AOL?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top