1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems with Belkin wireless router f5d7230-4

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ike9999, Feb 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ike9999

    ike9999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    hi guys im new to the site and i have some questions for the support team hopefully you guys can give me some answers (take it ez on me)

    I use my linksys compact wireless-g usb for internet

    OK , i am using Internet Connection Sharing with my PC to Playstation 2 the ICS works fine i have internet on my computer and PS2 (im online with madden 08) then after about 7 mins i lose internet to both my PS2 and PC

    Now i can fix this problem when i unplug ,,,then plug my belkin router and the ICS is back on, then 7 mins later the same the it goes off.

    i have my firewall completely off, and im not using ports cause i dont know how to use them, i have tried going to my routers page 192.168.0.2 but nothing happens

    this is getting annoying it takes at least 40 mins to complete a madden game. Someone plz help me
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    hi and welcome

    it could be a dns issue
    try the following when its working and then try again when it disconnects
    post back the results

    ipconfig /all

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


    NEXT lets see if you can get out onto the internet with both names and IP's - its possible the IP number you get back on the first test is different to the one I post {I'm in UK} so use the number you get instead of mine

    ------------------------------------------------
    try ping the name and then the IP see below

    start
    run
    cmd

    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {the default gateway ipaddress you got above }


    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping google.com
    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.99
     
  3. ike9999

    ike9999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    etaf thx for quick reply here is the result from 1st method

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : surplusxxx
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Compact Wireless-G USB Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-10-65-19-08
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.12
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.25.5.148
    24.25.5.147
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 17, 2008 3:23:56 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 17, 2008 4:23:56 PM


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-09-6B-CF-88-71
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

    the second method didnt work 4 me i typed it in and nothing happened
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is the ping test that are important
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    Truly amazing that works at all! Suggest you use the default Belkin LAN of 192.168.2.x (anything but 192.168.0.x since you are using ICS), and leave the ethernet connection's Gateway blank.
     
  6. ike9999

    ike9999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    ok etaf i tried the second method 4 the default gate this is what i got

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>


    Now this is 4 google.com

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=246
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=246
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=246

    Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 17ms, Maximum = 19ms, Average = 18ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    looks like a dns issue - if you can ping google but can ping the IP address

    try the bbc

    ping bbc.co.uk
    then try
    ping 212.58.224.131

    post the results
     
  8. ike9999

    ike9999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    etaf here is the bbc

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping bbc.co.uk

    Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.131] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 212.58.224.131: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=111
    Reply from 212.58.224.131: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=111
    Reply from 212.58.224.131: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=111
    Reply from 212.58.224.131: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=111

    Ping statistics for 212.58.224.131:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 99ms, Maximum = 113ms, Average = 103ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>


    etaf here is 212.58.224.131

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 212.58.224.131

    Pinging 212.58.224.131 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 212.58.224.131: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=111
    Reply from 212.58.224.131: bytes=32 time=108ms TTL=111
    Reply from 212.58.224.131: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=111
    Reply from 212.58.224.131: bytes=32 time=101ms TTL=111

    Ping statistics for 212.58.224.131:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 100ms, Maximum = 113ms, Average = 105ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  9. ike9999

    ike9999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Terry when ever i change around my LAN's settings i most of the time get limited or no connectivity internet????
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you do the same when you lose connection
     
  11. ike9999

    ike9999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    like if i disable my lan my computer will still have internet but i lose connection on my PS2,,

    i found something out it my not be my router cause if i disable my lan and immediately enable it i get internet on my ps2 but then 7 min is goes off
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    In case you did not understand my post #5, login to your router and change its LAN address. The default of 192.168.2.1 would be fine. If you don't like that, change it to something else. ICS uses 192.168.0.x, so your other network has to be a different subnet.

    In the TCP/IP Properties of your ethernet connection make the Gateway blank.
     
  13. ike9999

    ike9999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    i have tried to login into belkin's router page at 192.168.2.1 but nothing happens???
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    Have you changed its address to 192.168.2.1, or is it still 192.168.0.1 as you showed in post #3?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    Wait! A better question is ...

    For that ipconfig /all in post #3 were you connected to your Belkin router to to somebody else's network???
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/684182

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice