1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems with DNS Server/ always "reset network adapter"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vote4jacob, Oct 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vote4jacob

    vote4jacob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Hi there.
    I am running Windows Vista on an HP dv2415us laptop. It is about 2 months old. I connect to the internet via my dorm network at University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire with a standard cat5 ethernet cable.

    The problem that I'm having is that every time the computer boots up or wakes from sleep, the internet is basically broken. It will not connect to the internet, and my status is "local only". I right click on my internet button in the notification area, and click "diagnose and repair", and it comes up with this:

    "Cannot Communicate with Primary DNS Server (137.28.5.203)"

    It gives me three options:

    "A problem with your router or modem might be preventing connection"

    "Automatically get new IP settings"

    "Reset the network adapter "Local area Connection" "


    The first two do nothing, and the last one, reset the network adapter, fixes the problem every time. I just can't understand why I have to reset my adapter every time I wake from sleep mode or restart my computer.

    Help on this would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. jodaboda

    jodaboda

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    one thing to try is to not let windows put the adapter to sleep:

    open network and sharing center. click manage network connections on the left side. r-click the Local Area Connection and select properties. Click configure for the adapter. go to the last tab, Power Management. Uncheck "allow windows" to turn off this device to save power. There may be a couple other boxes there you can play with too.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I had this exact issue with my Vista desktop, and I had to stick a new NIC into it to fix it.

    I'd start with your issue by upgrading the drivers if the previous advice doesn't help.
     
  4. vote4jacob

    vote4jacob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Yeah, I already have those boxes unchecked. I also upgraded the drivers, and still have the problems.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Time for HP support, good luck with that... :)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/633115