Problems with GPU?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jake5467

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
4
So I got this person to build me a computer, the specs are

OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , 64 bit
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 4 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3839 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7025 / NVIDIA nForce 630a, 256 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 953812 MB, Free - 744561 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., M4N68T-M, Rev X.0x, MT7007K37702164
Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2011, Updated and Enabled

Basically when I hook up to the Graphics Card output for VGA or HDMI I don't get a picture. I have downloaded the latest drivers and I think it's hooked up right because the fan on it is on. I am using the motherboard graphics at the moment and the card that isn't working is the GeForce GTS450.

I have contacted the computer builder but he is away until the 14 of January and I'm impatient :p

Cheers, Jake.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,360
OK, that is a pw hungry card. What pw supply do you have installed? Post the exact brand and model. Note this info is on a label on the pw supply [open case and look]

Next I assume you have in fact connected the 6pin pw connector to the card.
 

Jake5467

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
4
TAGAN PLATINUM SERIES 800W, 80 Plus, SLI & Crossfire Certified EPS Power Supply

That is the one
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,360
Do you have the pw connector installed on the card?

Did you read your mb manual regarding upgrading cards and the procedure to do so?
 

Jake5467

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
4
Sorry, that was complete jibberish. I had somebody build it for me, I was wondering if anyone knew a way to fix this. The guy who built it is on holidays til 14 Jan.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,360
Sorry, that was complete jibberish. I had somebody build it for me, I was wondering if anyone knew a way to fix this. The guy who built it is on holidays til 14 Jan.
Before anyone can help you, you need to answer the questions;
Did you read your manual regarding upgrading cards and how to do so?
Did you connect the 6pin pw connector to the card.
 

Jake5467

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
4
Guys basically the guy built the entire system INCLUDING THE GRAPHICS CARD. My idea is that when it was shipped to me it got knocked around and came loose. I am guessing the power is connected as the card's fan is spinning but it must have come loose from the motherboard. Thanks anyway..
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Ok then why not open the case and see if it is in the pci-x slot correctly and the 6 pin connection from the psu is plugged in.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top