1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems with IE

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Stalvros, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stalvros

    Stalvros Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    this morning when i opened my IE
    it says

    ===========================================
    Runtime Error
    Program: C\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplorer.exe

    The application has requested the runtime to terminate it in an
    unusual way.
    Please contact the application's support team for more information
    ===========================================

    i was wondering if its a virus or something
    is there any way to fix this?
     
  2. emoric

    emoric

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Do you have the Google toolbar for Internet Explorer installed?

    1. Go to Start>> Control Panel>> Add/Remove Programs.
    2. Scroll the list until you find "Google toolbar for Internet Explorer".
    3. Remove the program and reboot your system.
     
  3. Stalvros

    Stalvros Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    nope no google toolbar installed
    its only installed for firefox

    however, under IE,
    these toolbars are installed
    - EPSON Web-To-Page
    - Alcohol
     
  4. emoric

    emoric

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    If you don't use them, uninstall them both.
     
  5. Stalvros

    Stalvros Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    btw
    i forgot to add
    the problem ONLY occurs
    when i launch IE through msn

    i usually use IE to check my e-mail
    you know where you can click that 'e-mail' thingy
    and it'll automatically launch IE?

    if i launch IE manually it will just go to google homepage
    and that loads fine~

    but yeah, still.....
     
  6. tonkacat

    tonkacat

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    406
    This sounds like it may be a security problem. Maybe you shoul post on the Security Forum?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596336

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice