Problems with installing internet security program

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Pymeohmy

Hello,

I am fairly new to computers and I am having a problem that I just don't know how to fix.

I have a windows XP computer and had Norton internet Security on it I think it was 2003 or 2004. I purchased Norton Interent security 2006 and tried to install it. It checked the computer to make sure it could be installed but as it was installing there was an error message that popped up:"This file does not have a program associated with it to perfor this action. Create an association in the folder options control panel.

I got this message a few times and then it said it was finished,,,the computer restarted....and at this point all my icons except for 1 old AOL icon were "gone". There are now what looks to be a white "page" of paper in place of the icons including nortons.

When I click on any of these they either do nothing at all...or an error pops up that there are no files. When I went into my computer to uninstall Norton there is NOTHING in there, no programs ...nothing.

I went onto symantec website for support and the error I found that came closest to this was: "This file doesn't have a file associated with it...."

I followed the directions which had me go into "safe mode" and type in regedit and then into the registry editor for Hkey_classes_root....etc.
I followed the instructions to check certain boxes and then apply them...but when I tried to "apply" them the check mark disappeard. So I tried just clicking ok and went back to check and the check mark disappeared again.