1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

problems with linksys wusb600n net adapter.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by n00b1001, Feb 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. n00b1001

    n00b1001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Ok, so everything i try to connect to my wireless network with my desktop using my wusb600n adapter, everything works perfectly for about 30 seconds, and then nothing. webpages stop loading, and online games stop working.

    like even know I loaded this page, and will have to repair the connection by the time im done writing this. its really annoying because I haven't changed anything with my computer in a month and it was working fine like 3 days ago.

    im really not sure, i tried disabling my firewall, but it still works for 30 seconds then stops.

    i tried closing my anti virus, but still nothing (however it still has a background process running.

    i read other threads on this adapter, but none of them solved my problem.

    im really stumped.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what windows version

    Wireless adapters do not often work in safemode with networking - but sometimes they do - and it would be useful test to see if it does work - how long it works for ....
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    can we see an ipconfig /all and the three ping tests - when it stops working in normal mode

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    then type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. n00b1001

    n00b1001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Im' using XP SP2, and I have Kasperspy Anti-Virus


    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Nimbly

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys WUSB600N Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Network Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-E5-E9-D3-62

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.14

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.71.255.204

    64.71.255.198

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 10, 2013 4:59:39 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 17, 2013 4:59:39 PM


    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)

    I believe I did that correctly, I really apperciate your help.

    Thanks!
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have a subscription ?

    I would remove that using the removal tool - make a note of any keys, if yo want to re-install and subscribe
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Kaspersky Removal Tool
    A link to Kaspersky - this varies with different versions
    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208279463
    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=193239279

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. n00b1001

    n00b1001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    subscription, yea i do, and in any case it was running fine with kaspersky on last week, fml, ill try removing it.
     
  6. n00b1001

    n00b1001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    no good man, i completely removed kaspersky, and disabled windows firewall, and the same problem, works for about 10-20 seconds and then gives me a DNS error.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  8. n00b1001

    n00b1001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    no good man, im pretty much ready to run a system recovery, thanks for the advice, I do appreciate it, but it looks like this one is unfixable.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088858

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice