problems with linksys wusb600n net adapter.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

n00b1001

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
Ok, so everything i try to connect to my wireless network with my desktop using my wusb600n adapter, everything works perfectly for about 30 seconds, and then nothing. webpages stop loading, and online games stop working.

like even know I loaded this page, and will have to repair the connection by the time im done writing this. its really annoying because I haven't changed anything with my computer in a month and it was working fine like 3 days ago.

im really not sure, i tried disabling my firewall, but it still works for 30 seconds then stops.

i tried closing my anti virus, but still nothing (however it still has a background process running.

i read other threads on this adapter, but none of them solved my problem.

im really stumped.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
what windows version

Wireless adapters do not often work in safemode with networking - but sometimes they do - and it would be useful test to see if it does work - how long it works for ....
- try safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode with networking - see if that works

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

can we see an ipconfig /all and the three ping tests - when it stops working in normal mode

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

then type CMD

then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

n00b1001

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
Im' using XP SP2, and I have Kasperspy Anti-Virus


Windows IP Configuration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Nimbly

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys WUSB600N Dual-Band Wireless-N USB Network Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-E5-E9-D3-62

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.14

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.71.255.204

64.71.255.198

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 10, 2013 4:59:39 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 17, 2013 4:59:39 PM


C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping google.com
Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)

I believe I did that correctly, I really apperciate your help.

Thanks!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454

n00b1001

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
subscription, yea i do, and in any case it was running fine with kaspersky on last week, fml, ill try removing it.
 

n00b1001

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
no good man, i completely removed kaspersky, and disabled windows firewall, and the same problem, works for about 10-20 seconds and then gives me a DNS error.
 

n00b1001

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
no good man, im pretty much ready to run a system recovery, thanks for the advice, I do appreciate it, but it looks like this one is unfixable.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top