1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems with ME...

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by alamal, Jan 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alamal

    alamal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    I've been working on my friends pc that runs ME with a PIII. I've finally rid it of a virus via the help from the good folks at this site.

    A new concern or actually two has come up.

    One is that whenever I try to open Windows Explorer from the start>programs menu what opens is actually My Documents. How do I change this?

    The next thing is is that I can't get a standard drop down menu bar on any of the files I open or view. How is this done in ME? I'm used to W98se so perhaps it's somewhat different.

    Please help as my friend has seemed to really have messed this pc up.

    Thanks and God bless,
    Peter
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    For the Explorer problem, try this:

    Go to the Start Menu > Programs shortcut for Windows Explorer and right click on it and select Properties.

    You will see a "Target" entry there. Change it to read:

    c:\windows\explorer.exe\ /n,/e,C:\

    You can also do this by Right Clicking on the Desktop and selecting New > Shortcut, and using that as the target line, it can then be moved to the quicklaunch for easy access.

    I'm not sure what to make of the other issue, are you referring to the File Tree when you click "open" in File?
     
  3. alamal

    alamal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    Yes, there is no drop down menus as in...

    File Edit View Go Favorites Help

    In any file I open I can't navigate via the drop down menus. I can't right click on the menu bar either as it gives me nothing when I do.

    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  4. alamal

    alamal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    Hi Rollin'

    This.... c:\windows\explorer.exe\ /n,/e,C:\ didn't work. Got a window that said it wasn't a valid path and to make sure the file name and path are correct.

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Does the menu bar show up in any Explorer folders? How about Internet Explorer? What happens if you tap the f11 key a few times?

    Tony covered a few possiblities here, of which the f11 key seemed to work:

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?postid=655200#post655200

    Also, run regedit and look in:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer

    What restrictions are listed there?
     
  6. alamal

    alamal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    No it doesn't show up in any folders including Internet Explorer.

    As far as the registry, well, ya lost me on that. That's one thing I try to stay away from as I'm not very well equipped to handle it without close supervision, if ya know what I mean.

    Since my neighbors are moving I asked them to pack up their pc and let me have it for a few days while I (and you nice folks) attempt to work the bugs out. It is now in transit over here.

    So, the four things I've noticed off the bat are...
    1. No menu bar.
    2. Unable to open Windows Explorer.
    3. Scandisk is inoperable (it trys to restart and errors out after 10 attempts saying that something is running in the backgroud. The only things running are systray and explorer).
    4. Opening Word displays EBPMON.dll error.

    Those are the things I've found so far. I'm sure there are more I've not discovered yet.

    I will try some more of the things you've suggested and post back.

    Thanks Rollin', I mean THANKS!
    Peter
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Don't worry about using regedit, it's just another file tree unless you start deleting things you shouldn't. For now I just want you to look there and see what you find in the Right Hand pane.

    Also, be sure to run msconfig again and re-enable ALL startups. Then give us a post of the startups using the StartupList application from the site below. Just unzip, run it and copy/paste the results to a reply.

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

    >> what happens when you try to open Windows Explorer? You said before it was opening to My Documents? Did you change the target of the shortcut and lose it?

    Do a File Search for Explorer.exe, it should be in C:\windows. When it is found, right click on it and select Send To Desktop as Shortcut. Does the desktop shortcut open?
     
  8. alamal

    alamal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    Gotcha Rollin':
    I'll do everything you suggested and post back.

    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  9. alamal

    alamal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    Ok, here's what's going on.

    When I go into regedit and go to...
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer I get two values...
    one being (default) (value not set) and the other being NoDriveType 95 00 00 00 which doesn't sound right.

    When I try to open Explorer.exe I get My Documents. I sent a copy of it to the Desktop and the same thing happened. The pathway is set to open My Documents. I'm not quite sure how to change that.

    Here also is the complete listing of programs running at startup...

    StartupList report, 1/14/2003, 3:49:24 PM
    StartupList version: 1.50
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOTIVE\MOTMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\INTERNAT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LXSUPMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]
    EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE
    MICROSOFT WORKS CALENDAR REMINDERS.LNK = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
    MICROSOFT OFFICE.LNK = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    New Adobe PhotoDeluxe Image.pdd
    New Microsoft Word Document.doc

    User shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]
    EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE
    MICROSOFT WORKS CALENDAR REMINDERS.LNK = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
    MICROSOFT OFFICE.LNK = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    New Adobe PhotoDeluxe Image.pdd
    New Microsoft Word Document.doc

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadQM = loadqm.exe
    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    WorksFUD = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\wkfud.exe
    MSConfigReminder = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msconfig.exe /reminder
    Microsoft Works Update Detection = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    LexStart = Lexstart.exe
    LexmarkPrinTray = PrinTray.exe
    MotiveMonitor = C:\Program Files\Motive\motmon.exe
    internat.exe = internat.exe
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    LXSUPMON = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LXSUPMON.EXE RUN
    Microsoft Works Portfolio = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WksSb.exe /AllUsers

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    *StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    SSDPSRV = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    MSMSGS = C:\PROGRA~1\MESSEN~1\msmsgs.exe /background
    Microsoft Works Update Detection = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    MoneyAgent = "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\Money Express.exe"

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
    StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

    [>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

    [PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:OE /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

    [^RNA] *
    StubPath = rundll rnasetup.dll,installoptionalcomponent rna

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 12/1/2003, 16:58:58)

    [Rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\VCCLEA~1.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET CLASSPATH=C:\Program Files\PhotoDeluxe 2.0\AdobeConnectables
    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;"C:\Program Files\Dell\Resolution Assistant\Common\bin"
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    @C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

    @echo off
    REM
    REM
    LH C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~8\MOUSE\MOUSE.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [{2C38A62E-D257-40E8-8BB7-5624E38FEB0A}]
    CODEBASE = http://62.52.93.252/bigbozo8912/access.cab

    [{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
    CODEBASE = http://usa-download.nocreditcard.com/download/newdial-erp/2936/dialer.exe

    [MSN Money Charting]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\INV12.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/investor/v12/invinstl.exe

    [ActiveScan Installer Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ASINST.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as/asinst.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 8,252 bytes
    Report generated in 0.413 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only

    I'm not quite sure on why all this is even in here. For example, why is there an entry to start Word at Startup. How can we get rid of unecessary entries?

    Thankyou so much,

    Peter
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I don't know why the Word and pdf entries are there either. Did you see msconfig entries for them? (I would suspect not). There may still be some unchecked items as I see this remains as well:

    MSConfigReminder = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msconfig.exe /reminder

    Other than that there is nothing unusual about the startups except for that I'm saving for last.

    You can review most on a case by case basis using the info here:

    http://www.lafn.org/webconnect/mentor/startup/PENINDEX.HTM

    As for Explorer opening up in My Documents, Right Click on the one now on the Desktop, select Properties, and change the target to:

    c:\windows\explorer.exe\ /n,/e,C:\

    It should open on the c:\ directory then.

    To keep the Word and PDF documents from opening, they would have to simply be deleted or removed from the Startup folder:

    [C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]

    And finally, the lack of any other registry restriction at that location seems to rule out a restriction as the cause of the menu bar problem. Have you gone through the advice given by Tony in the thread I linked to?

    The Downloaded Programs folder contains a couple of entries that should be removed. Go to Internet Options>Settings>View objects and in that folder, right click on and Remove these two entries:

    [{2C38A62E-D257-40E8-8BB7-5624E38FEB0A}]
    CODEBASE = http://62.52.93.252/bigbozo8912/access.cab

    [{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
    CODEBASE = http://usa-download.nocreditcard.co...2936/dialer.exe
     
  11. alamal

    alamal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    Yes I did see msconfig entries for Word.

    I entered the path for Explorer in the target area and recieved this message .... specified in target box is not valid. Any other ideas on this one?

    I can't do what Tony suggests as NONE of the files have a menu bar. I also can't get into Windows Explorer as he suggests but I viewed some of the files (a lot) and none had a menu bar.

    I got rid of the entries in the Downloaded Programs.

    I sure appreciate your help.

    Peter
     
  12. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I think I inadvertantly put a back slash in there, but it really shouldn't make a difference, try it like this:

    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE /n,/e,C:\

    As long as the original target was c:\windows\explorer.exe there should be nothing wrong with the path.

    make sure you have that colon :)) after c or you will get messages like that when trying to save the change.
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Also, what happens when you press

    alt+V

    This should give you Toolbar options, make sure all are selected, and if there is an option to "lock" them, unselect that.
     
  14. alamal

    alamal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    Whew, got that Explorer path taken care of.
    The only problem is is that ya know how there is supposed to be two columns in Explorer. Well, there are two but the one on the left is BLANK!! And the menu bar is missing. The two are somehow connected.

    On the bright side we're down to only this one (or two) issues (I think).

    Peter
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Well, we do have a fix for that, but it will not work on IE 5.5, which is what I see installed. However if you/he is willing to update to IE 6 we can run it, if updating alone doesn't correct it.

    However, try running the IE Repair Tool in Add/Remove programs > Internet Explorer > Remove> Repair first. Might just do it.

    This is the "fix" I'm referring to:

    http://forums.techguy.org/t59067/s.html
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113148

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice