1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems with NVIDIA GeForce 6200

Discussion in 'Games' started by mr_jackie_tu, Sep 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mr_jackie_tu

    mr_jackie_tu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Okay, i changed my old video card into this NVIDIA GeForce 6200. Now i am unable to watch any movies using Window Media player or any other programs that allows me to watch movies with. It happens that when i load a movie, it will just freeze. When I crl+alt+del, things would change back into normal. On the other hand, when i want to play a specific game such as Rise of Nations, it will have the same problem as the movie, freeze in the beginning of the intro. However, when i play counter-strike: Condition Zero, it works perfectly. My computer is showing that the video card is not recogniznig it or the yellow exclamation mark beside the "NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller". When i want to load this hardware in my add hardware wizard, this shows up: "Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)"
    Man i don't know what kind of stupid problem this is :mad: , but i would like to have it fix and get this video card working so i can watch some movies wth it. PLEASE help out here, THANKS.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    try removing it from device manager - now did you get a driver CD with the new Card?
    when you reboot windows it will detect new hardware - during the wizard point the wizard at the CD and drivers section/folder so that it can install the correct drivers for the device.

    OR

    you can from device manager update driver and point at CD

    if you did not get a CD - then we will need to load of the web -

    post back if no CD and also make of card - is it MSI
    if MSI
    http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/driver/dvr/spt_dvr_list.php?part=2
     
  3. Smety

    Smety

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Try updating the drivers . . .
     
  4. mr_jackie_tu

    mr_jackie_tu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    I went ahead and uninstalled the NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller. Rebooted, and the icon of which new hardware are found appeared beside the clock at the bottom right corner. I tried to double click it and right click it, and it went ahead and disappeared. I went to Device Manager and found the icon to NVIDIA nFORCE Networking Controller there again along with the yellow exclamation mark which it had it before and with the problem: "Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)". I tried to update the driver through the path of the CD that came with the card (nVIDIA VGA CARD DRIVERS Installation Software Disk Version N 5.6.1) and it didn't work. So i tried to load the CD through My Computer and happens that nothing showed up. After that, i tried to reboot my comp and happens that Windows couldn't end the program AUTORUN.EXE. I have no idea of what kind of problem that the video card can't be recognize. Is it my CD ROM's problem that couldn't start the CD (AUTORUN.EXE)? I don't think so because other CDs work. Is it the nVIDIA CD's problem? The CD is still new with hardly a scratch. I was told to uninstall the hardware and to load it with the CD that came with it, which i did. Unless i am suppose to uninstall other hardware of the Video Card (I uninstalled the NVIDIA nFORCE network controller)
    The programs of the Video Card in the Device Manager Shows:
    +Network adapter
    -2Wire PC Port #6
    -[!] NVIDIA nFORCE Networking Controller
    +NVIDIA Network Bus Enumerator

    Which one am i suppose to reload it? Yes, i do have the CD (VGA CARD Ver. N 5.6.1)
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    lets have a little more info
    make model of PC
    do you know the make/model of motherboard - if not see below
    windows version XP, 2000, wetc

    In device manager under
    display adapters - do you have the
    NVIDIA GeForce 6200

    This is a network adapter and not graphics
    NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    so your CD wont/ may not have the drivers

    can you download Belarc.com
    and post the information about graphics/videos also motherboard should be listed and networking info
    OR
    you can run an online scan from here
    http://www.d-a-l.com/hardware-scan.php

    need to see what the device is but there are some drivers here - dont use just yet
    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/win/38701
     
  6. mr_jackie_tu

    mr_jackie_tu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Here is the description of my comp. that you ask for...
    -------------------------------------------------------

    OS Information:
    PropertyValue
    OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional|C:\WINDOWS|\Device\Harddisk0\Partition1
    Service Pack 0.0
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS


    Processor:
    PropertyValue
    Current Clock Speed 2009
    Description x86 Family 15 Model 12 Stepping 0
    Manufacturer AuthenticAMD
    Name AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+


    Memory (RAM):
    PropertyValue
    Bank Label Bank0/1
    Capacity 536870912

    Bank Label Bank2/3
    Capacity 536870912

    Total Memory Deteced in Hardware: ~1024 MB
    Memory Reported to Operating System: 1023MB

    Disk Drives:
    PropertyValue
    Description Disk drive
    Manufacturer (Standard disk drives)
    Model Maxtor 6Y060L0
    Media Type Fixed hard disk media
    Size 61492193280 (~57 GB)
    Number of Partitions 1

    Description Disk drive
    Manufacturer (Standard disk drives)
    Model QUANTUM FIREBALLlct20 20
    Media Type Fixed hard disk media
    Size 20415144960 (~19 GB)
    Number of Partitions 1


    Installed Printers:
    PropertyValue
    Name Canon i455
    Port Name USB001
    Default True
    Driver Name Canon i455


    Motherboard:
    PropertyValue
    Manufacturer http://www.abit.com.tw/
    Model
    Name Base Board
    Part Number
    Product NF8/NF8-V (nVidia nForce3 250GB)
    Serial Number
    Version 1.x


    BIOS:
    PropertyValue
    Manufacturer Phoenix Technologies, LTD
    Name Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    Release Date 20050223******.******+***
    Version Nvidia - 42302e31


    Monitor:
    PropertyValue
    Description Plug and Play Monitor
    Name Plug and Play Monitor
    Screen Height 600
    Screen Width 800


    Keyboard:
    PropertyValue
    Description Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard


    Pointing Device:
    PropertyValue
    Manufacturer Logitech
    Name HID-compliant Cordless Mouse


    Sound Card:
    PropertyValue
    Manufacturer Realtek
    Description Realtek AC'97 Audio
    Device ID PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00EA&SUBSYS_1C14147B&REV_A1\3&13C0B0C5&0&30

    Manufacturer C-Media
    Description CMI8738/C3DX PCI Audio Device
    Device ID PCI\VEN_13F6&DEV_0111&SUBSYS_011113F6&REV_10\4&3191A3E6&0&3870


    Video Card:
    PropertyValue
    Adapter Compatibility NVIDIA
    Adapter RAM 134217728
    Description NVIDIA GeForce 6200
    Installed Display Drivers nv4_disp.dll
    Driver Version 6.14.10.7772
    Driver Date 6/15/2005 4:20:00 AM
    Video Mode Description 800 x 600 x 4294967296 colors


    DirectX Installation:
    PropertyValue
    Version 6.03.01.0146


    Modem:
    PropertyValue

    Network Adapters:
    PropertyValue
    Description 2Wire PC Port #6
    Description 2Wire PC Port #6
    Description 2Wire PC Port #6
    Description Microsoft TV/Video Connection
    Description WAN Miniport (IPX)
    Description NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Controller
    Description NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Description 2Wire PC Port #6
    Description 2Wire PC Port
    Description 2Wire PC Port #6

    External Ports:
    PropertyValue
    External Reference Designator
    External Reference Designator
    External Reference Designator
    External Reference Designator
    External Reference Designator
    External Reference Designator
    External Reference Designator
    External Reference Designator
    External Reference Designator USB0

    Expansion Slots:
    PropertyValue
    Slot Designation PCI0
    Slot Designation PCI1
    Slot Designation PCI2
    Slot Designation PCI3
    Slot Designation PCI4
    Slot Designation AGP
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Yes, the NVIDIA GeForce 6200 do show up in my network adapter and is working properly. For a further clear infomation, My motherboard isa NF8 series from ABIT, Socket 754 System Board
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
  8. mr_jackie_tu

    mr_jackie_tu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    yes, the PC is all customized by me and my dad. In the motherboard manual, it says its a NF8 Series (NF8 Pro/NF8/NF8-V Pro/NF8-V). <== i don't know what that means. The box of the motherboard have a sticker that says it is
    NF8-V

    I have the CD that came with the motherboard, but i don't know if my dad isntalled it or not. The computer can still work normally even without installing with the CD? I think that my dad did install the CD because on the description of my computer, it stated that my soundcard is Realtek, which is with the motherboard. This tells me that my dad did install the CD in order for it to work right?

    So do i reload it with the CD or with the site that you given me? i'm just going to load it through the site and see what happens, the NF8-V.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    i would try updating the driver from device manager again - only this time point tothe motherboard CD

    whats the sub directory structure on CD - you may have to go down the subdirectories to drivers

    or
    as you say get it off the web - its 30MB - so on a dialup that would take a long while
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    I think you are confusing the network card to the vga card. nVidia chipset mobo have a nvidia network card. The network card should not affect the vga card in any way
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    I agree

    so i think the network card needs the motherboard drivers - so its nolonger a ! mark in device manager and possibly needs other motherboard drivers too..
    then once those descripancies are sorted out, we can start to work on the graphics card -

    what do you think Tidus4Yuna
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    The CD that came with the motherboard should have the drivers for the network card.

    I'm looking for the up-to-date driver on their site. It's not visible but I think I have found it.

    Edit: There doesn't seem to have a lan driver for the nvidia. The other thing it could be is a broadcom which mine is. You should check the CD for a setup file for the LAN. The file I found is about 20Mb, which looks like all the drivers for Nvidia. If you have a downloader helper like GetRight, then enter this for download:

    ftp://ftp-usa.abit.com.tw/pub/download/driver2/nvidia/6177win2kxp.zip

    you can also enter it in a browser address bar if you don't.

    If you have a connection port on your motherboard for a IEEE-1394 (firewire), you have the NF8. If not you have the NF8-V.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    did the links I posted above not link to the motherboard drives which incluse all files for sound/netwrok etc - its 30MB
     
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    idon't know since I cant check, but I have no clue what the RAID one is.
     
  15. mr_jackie_tu

    mr_jackie_tu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Man...Yes i agree that there is a problem to my network adapter, because anyhow, i can't get it to update it even though with the motherboard cd. So what do i do? The motherboard CD must have included everything i need...The 30MG download program,i believe, are all included in the cd...So i still don't get this problem...Still trying to solve it out...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/401958