1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problems with RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by redrail, Apr 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redrail

    redrail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,

    Here are the technical data from my computer:
    CPU Type :AMD Athlon XP, 1666 MHz (12.5 x 133) 2000+
    Motherboard Name: ENMIC 8TTX3+ (6 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DIMM, Audio, LAN)
    Motherboard Chipset: VIA VT8367 Apollo KT333
    System Memory:256 MB (DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type:Award Modular (07/19/02)

    Operating System:Microsoft Windows XP Professional OS Service Pack Service Pack 2

    This is my problem:
    I have 2 ramsticks in my computer one of 256 MB and one of 512 MB. Since yesterday my computer does not detect the 512 MB anymore at start up the computer only counts the 256 MB.
    I ran Everest and this program gives me this data:
    [ DIMM1: MemorySolutioN MS64D32000U-7 ]

    Memory Module Properties:
    Module Name MemorySolutioN MS64D32000U-7
    Serial Number EB000000h
    Module Size 256 MB (1 rows, 4 banks)
    Module Type Unbuffered
    Memory Type DDR SDRAM
    Memory Speed PC2100 (133 MHz)
    Module Width 64 bit
    Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
    Error Detection Method None
    Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

    Memory Timings:
    @ 142 MHz 2.5-3-3-7 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
    @ 133 MHz 2.0-3-3-6 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

    Memory Module Features:
    Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
    Auto-Precharge Not Supported
    Precharge All Not Supported
    Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
    Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
    Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
    On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
    Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
    Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
    Differential Clock Input Supported
    Redundant Row Address Not Supported

    [ DIMM2: 512 MB PC2100 DDR SDRAM ]

    Memory Module Properties:
    Serial Number None
    Module Size 512 MB (2 rows, 4 banks)
    Module Type Unbuffered
    Memory Type DDR SDRAM
    Memory Speed PC2100 (133 MHz)
    Module Width 64 bit
    Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
    Error Detection Method None
    Refresh Rate Normal (15.625 us), Self-Refresh

    Memory Timings:
    @ 142 MHz 2.0-3-3-7 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

    Memory Module Features:
    Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
    Auto-Precharge Not Supported
    Precharge All Not Supported
    Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
    Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
    Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
    On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
    Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
    Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
    Differential Clock Input Supported
    Redundant Row Address Not Supported


    So it seems this program detects the two units but my computer only runs with 256 MB RAM for the moment. Windows "system information" only gives 256 rammemory.
    I already tried to boot up with only the 512 MB stick (in DIMM1). My computer didn't boot up and I heared a beep.
    How can I solve this problem?
    Many thanks for the help,
    Greetings,
    :)
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Have you tried moving the Ram in different slots and if the result is the same then most likely that stick of Ram is faulty
     
  3. redrail

    redrail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I switched, I put the 512 MB in DIMM1 and the 256 MB in DIMM2. No improvement.
    What I don't understand is why Everest diagnostic program detects the 512 MB in Dimm1 but why my computer does not use it.
    At the same time, when this problem started the bios changed the speed of my processor (instead of 1666 (12,5x133) the bios gave 1250 (12,5x100)). I changed it back to 1666 mhz. Is my Ramproblem maybe related to another change in my bios?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/701203

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice