Processor broken?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Darakym

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
8
Hi, Im having a problem with my comp. Specs :

AMD 2700+
A7V333-x
1024 MB DDR PC 2700 333 MHz (2x 512 MB)
Geforce 3 (Elsa Gladiac 920). Drivers: Detonator 45.33
Soundblaster Live! Value
Windows XP Pro

Problem: I have been running at 100 FSB ever since I bought my processor, mobo, and ram.
My processor runs at 1300 Mhz while it should run at 2166 (at 333 FSB)

Recently I decided to finally fix this problem, since its pretty ridiculous that I let my comp run at half speed for so long.

When I set my FSB to 333 Mhz through the BIOS, I am experiencing lockups and freezes. For example when I try to run everquest, the sound will hang and the comp may reboot or cease responding.
Not all games show this behaviour, and the comp stays pretty stable at desktop.

Could this be a faulty processor, or can it be the video card or memory?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
2,246
try flashing the bios, your board had a problem with 2600+ processor fixed with a bios update.
 

Darakym

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
8
Current bios version is second to last.
The newest version (1.004) has nothing interesting listed under fixes, but I will try it. I wont count on it helping though, but thanks for the tip.


(using 1.003 bios currently)
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
Check your Heatsink/Fan - if it is not seated correctly or is misisng the thermal Paste then it could be overheating - hence check you temps. You can check temos in the BIOS or use ASus Probe or MBM 5.

Also try using 1 stick of RAM at a time.
 

Darakym

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
8
Im running a diag utility showing CPU temp, its not getting very hot. got a new Vantec fan 2 days ago, made sure i used enough thermal paste.

I've also tried using 1 ram stick at a time, the same thing happens with either stick
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Messages
1,629
Set your CPU speed to 166mhz!! Check your multiplier.

100 x 2 = 200Mhz
133 x 2 = 266Mhz
166 x 2 = 333Mhz
200 x 2 = 400Mhz
 

Darakym

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
8
Compiler: I have done that, and when I do that i get programs crashing. So my problem is exactly that: if i set it to 166, i get crashes. Trying to find out what causes it =/
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Messages
1,629
After you have flashed your BIOS, reset your BIOS to DEFAULT settings...

Does it LOCK up on POST, or when Windows is loaded.

It's a strange... its like your timing is all screwed up... on ASUS boards, even thou you can control the FSB with BIOS - they have a jumper for 100 / 133~166 or 200mhz. Make sure its not on 100Mhz.
 

Darakym

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2003
Messages
8
I will see if i need to adjust a jumped in addition to BIOS, and will reset bios to default and see if that helps.

Comp does not lock up until I to run a game. (and even then, some games run fine, but other game that ran fine before start maing my comp crash or reboot at random)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top