1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Processor Info

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jackgreat, Jul 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jackgreat

    jackgreat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Hi,

    I had purchased a computer couple of weeks ago. It has an Intel Pentium D processor [930], intel 945 GNT board and so on...

    Now what i want to ask is the intel pentium d 930 processor has a 2 x 2 MB cache memory. And intel pentium D 830 has 2 x 1 MB cache. Both operate at 3 GHZ.

    When i check my processor info in bios i see the following -

    Processor Speed : 3 GHZ

    L2 Cache -> 2048 KB
    Total Memory -> 1024 MB

    Memory mode -> Single Channel

    Memory Channel A Slot 0 -> 1024 MB
    Memory Channel A Slot 1 -> none
    Memory Channel B Slot 0 > None

    so on...

    So is it ki rather than getting Intel pentium d 930 i got 830.

    what do you say ??

    Thanks,
    JG
     
  2. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    What motherboard are you using and what BIOS version.

    My first thought is the Motherboard is an older board, and doesn't read the extra Cache.
     
  3. jackgreat

    jackgreat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    hi,

    as i mentioned my motherboard is Intel 945 GNT and Bios version is latest.

    JG
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    Download CPUZ and see what it reports about your processor: http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
    It should show you the info on your processor.

    The Pentium D 800's are made on a 90nm manufacturing process with a code name of Smithfield.
    The Pentium D 900's are made on a 65nm manufacturing process with a code name of Presler.

    You need at least BIOS version 3309 to support the Pentium D 930
     
  5. jackgreat

    jackgreat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Hi,

    I checked the CPU Information. It shows Intel Pentium D 930. So that is okay.

    Now cache size shown is 2048 KB. So why it isnt showsn 4 MB cache.

    Bios version : 86A. 3528.2006

    so what do i do ?

    JG
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    Probably because its not 1 x 4MB but rather 2 x 2MB, 2MB for each core. Thats the way it should be. Same reason as its not show 6 Ghz for clock speed.
     
  7. jackgreat

    jackgreat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    thanks for info dude. so since it shows only for 1 core that why it is showing 2 MB for each core and not total.
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    Correct.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483639

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice