1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Processor overheating!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sdh31873, Jan 28, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sdh31873

sdh31873 Thread Starter

I have recently built my own computer from scratch. I am no expert and I am wondering what I am doing wrong. I have an Intel Motherboard with a Pentium 4, 1.8ghz processor. I have a WD 40 gig hard drive and I have 4 - 80mm case fans. I have a heatsink fan that came with the processor and I believe I have it on right. When I start using my computer and I really get to work, it flashes a warning from some software on my motherboard that my processor is overheating. It never gets too hot in the case but just the processor overheats. I am wondering how to solve this. I have as many fans as one can have. I keep it as cool as I can in the room but nothing seems to help. What is a maximum temperature for a Pentium 4 processor and what is the damage that overheating can cause? Why is it overheating? What can I do to cool the processor off besides the heatsink fan? Please help. Thanks.

2. Trboy13

Trboy13

When i got my fan for my cpu, it came with a pasty stuff, that you put on the chip. It is supposed to help transfer the heat better between the chip and heatsink.

The intel website should have the max temps somewhere.
    or here is a link to somthing that might help

http://mbm.livewiredev.com/cputemp.htm

3. TimD

TimD

i think your heatsink is not making enough contact to your processor.

try reinstalling that, preferably using a thermal paste or pad (if you're not already)

if you had an amd and it was overheating you'd have probably already lost your processor, but intels are good about shutting down before it kills itself.

4. deuce

deuce