1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Processor Upgrade Help!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by depiction, Jun 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    I'm thinking of upgrading my current processor for better performance.

    Here is my current processor info:

    Intel(R) Processor Frequency ID Utility
    Version: 5.6.20030609
    Time Stamp: 2003/06/29 01:21:52
    Number of processors in system: 1
    Current processor: #1
    Processor Name: Intel(R) Celeron(R) Processor
    Type: 0
    Family: 6
    Model: 8
    Stepping: 3
    Revision: 10
    L1 Instruction Cache: 16 KB
    L1 Data Cache: 16 KB
    L2 Cache: 128 KB
    Packaging: FC-PGA
    MMX(TM): Yes
    SIMD: Yes
    SIMD2: No
    NetBurst(TM) Microarchitecture: No
    Expected Processor Frequency: 667 MHz
    Reported Processor Frequency: 667 MHz
    Expected System Bus Frequency: 66 MHz
    Reported System Bus Frequency: 66 MHz

    My current motherboard supports SDRAM.

    I know I'd have to get a processor in the same family.(Intel Celeron). How would I figure out what my current motherboard would support? I'm not exactly sure what specs I need to look for when getting a new processor. Please help.
     
  2. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
  3. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Wow, neat program. Click here for my results.
     
  4. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    That only produced "Unknown" unfortunately. Do you have a BRAND system(ie: HP, Dell, Compaq, etc.)? If so, what model/version(ie: 8100, Presario, etc.). If you don't have that info, you're going to have to remove the side cover and visually inspect the mobo for ID info and numbers.
     
  5. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    I have a HP Pavilion 6736 computer.
     
  6. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    flrman1: Thanks but we need the mobo info not cpu.
     
  7. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
  8. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks. I guess the upgrade wouldn't be worth it unless I also upgrade the motherboard. I'd probably just be better off getting a new computer.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,418
    First Name:
    Rob
    If the board could take it(with a big IF) the maximum CPU for a socket 370 board is a P3 1400Mhz. Although in your case a P3 1000 Ghz probably would be the maximum as many boards don't support 1GHz+ CPU's. Do a visual inspection of the motherboard for a model number.

    On the other hand if you're willing to pay a little more you can get a lot more by replacing the system. An HP with a Celeron CPU isn't that fast.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/142999

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice