1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

processor upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by louvas, May 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. louvas

    louvas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I have purchased a amd athalon 64x2 5600 processor and installed it in place of a 4400 ,which manufacturer of board says it will work.I booted it up and it says it is an un supported processor,then it shuts down is this a bios issue .How do I upgrade bios.mcp61pm-hm rev:i.ob up to 5600+ up to 89 watts
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. p3qs008

    p3qs008

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Does your 4400 CPU still work? I'd reinstall it, update to the latest BIOS, and then reinstall your 5600.

    Is this an ECS branded board or an HP ECS board?
     
  4. louvas

    louvas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    it still works fine with old processor,it is a pci express motherboard,where would I get bios update I have never done one ,Lou
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You get the BIOS upgrade from the motherboard manufacturer.
     
  6. p3qs008

    p3qs008

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13
  7. louvas

    louvas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I am glad to see all the helpfull people out there. I have to try the bios update, thank you all for the help louvas
     
  8. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    As p3qs008 stated in post #5 if the board is installed in your Presario model SR5613WM you should use the BIOS update from HP. If it is an OEM board use the BIOS update from ECS.
     
  9. louvas

    louvas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I have tried updating bios ,it did not make a difference,it works fine with 4400+,when I install 5600+,it says unsupported pcu installed, and shuts down immediatly
     
  10. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    A BIOS revision that may work for an OEM board may not work for the same OEM board made proprietary for a system builder such as HP because the board made for the system builder has a different BIOS.

    HP and other "mass producers" want their machines to have limited upgradeability so they can try to sell a new product.
     
  11. louvas

    louvas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for the insight,it makes sense.
     
  12. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    You're welcome. We see this type scenario quite often.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/924273