Processor?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Shivers

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
180
Is the processor the Motherboard? So if I needed a better processor I would need a new mother board?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
The processor plugs into the motherboard in a special socket.

If you know what make and model of motherboard you have, we can find out what the fastest processor (CPU) is that will run.

Otherwise a new motherboard and a new processor would be needed (separate items).

Assuming a desktop system here, not a laptop.
 

Shivers

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
180
How much is a good motherboard with AGP Slot and PCI Slot that can go up to 3 Ghz?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
The motherboard you have now will take up to an Athlon XP 3200+.

When you go to 3 ghz, you are for the most part talking Pentium and I don't know them.
 

Shivers

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
180
How many ghz is an Athlon XP 3200?

And how much would it cost and is it easy to install?
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
The XP3200+ runs at 2.2Ghz on the 400Mhz FSB and costs $165 on Newegg.com
Your XP2500+ runs at 1.83Ghz on the 333Mhz FSB and can be overclocked to the XP3200+ in most cases.

Again, a XP2500+ can run almost anything that can be thrown at it.

If you want a true 3GHz CPU you will need to buy a new motherboard as well and then you are into about $300 and it performs just as well as the XP3000+ which is only marginally faster then you XP2500+. Installing the XP3200+ is fairly easy, installing a new motherboard and CPU is a little harder and would also require to to reinstall Windows.
 

Shivers

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
180
Ill just try and find out what is wrong... Maybe the brand of my vid card? XFX?
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
XFX is not known for quality but one would say it would be crashing or freezing if it was the card rather then being slow.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top