1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Processor?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Shivers, Feb 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shivers

    Shivers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Is the processor the Motherboard? So if I needed a better processor I would need a new mother board?
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    The processor plugs into the motherboard in a special socket.

    If you know what make and model of motherboard you have, we can find out what the fastest processor (CPU) is that will run.

    Otherwise a new motherboard and a new processor would be needed (separate items).

    Assuming a desktop system here, not a laptop.
     
  3. Shivers

    Shivers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Alright I see. Yeah its a desktop. My MOBO is Asus A7N8X v2.0
     
  4. Shivers

    Shivers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    How much is a good motherboard with AGP Slot and PCI Slot that can go up to 3 Ghz?
     
  5. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,945
    The motherboard you have now will take up to an Athlon XP 3200+.

    When you go to 3 ghz, you are for the most part talking Pentium and I don't know them.
     
  6. Shivers

    Shivers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    How many ghz is an Athlon XP 3200?

    And how much would it cost and is it easy to install?
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,421
    First Name:
    Rob
    The XP3200+ runs at 2.2Ghz on the 400Mhz FSB and costs $165 on Newegg.com
    Your XP2500+ runs at 1.83Ghz on the 333Mhz FSB and can be overclocked to the XP3200+ in most cases.

    Again, a XP2500+ can run almost anything that can be thrown at it.

    If you want a true 3GHz CPU you will need to buy a new motherboard as well and then you are into about $300 and it performs just as well as the XP3000+ which is only marginally faster then you XP2500+. Installing the XP3200+ is fairly easy, installing a new motherboard and CPU is a little harder and would also require to to reinstall Windows.
     
  8. Shivers

    Shivers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Ill just try and find out what is wrong... Maybe the brand of my vid card? XFX?
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,421
    First Name:
    Rob
    XFX is not known for quality but one would say it would be crashing or freezing if it was the card rather then being slow.
     
  10. Shivers

    Shivers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Ah alright.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/327642

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice