1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Program Opens when 'A' key is pressed

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Magician595, Jan 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Magician595

Magician595 Thread Starter

Hi all,

I work in a school environment and have come across an intermittent, non-user specific and non-machine specific issue.

Sometimes when people log on and start typing it will open up a piece of software, and always the same one and the same 'A' key on the keyboard.

It is not a huge problem, you can minimise the program and it wont keep opening up, or you can log off and back on again to cure the problem.

I am just curious if anyone has seen this before, or maybe has an idea how we can prevent this. I have search many forums for similar problems people have experienced, but never found anything helpful.

Many thanks,

James

2. rainforest123

rainforest123

Which W7? 32 or 64 bit? Which SP? Do the specs listed in your profile apply to the computer [ s ] in discussion?

ONLY the "A" key? Upper case or lower case? Both?

edit:
    Do you mean that after logging off, the user can tap whichever key it is and the problem will not re-occur until a reboot?

end edit

Try Last Known Good Config; then try safe mode.

Please report the results.

RF123

3. rainforest123

rainforest123

Were the computers configured using an image [ W7 & programs installed ]? If so, this might be a hotkey issue.

You can search for Windows 7 & hotkeys as well as I can search for that.
    No offense intended.

RF123

4. Magician595

Magician595 Thread Starter

My apologies for lack of information to begin with.