1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Program too big to fit in memory (while installing)

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by clickstaar, Nov 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. clickstaar

    clickstaar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Hi. Recently I got a Toshiba NB305 from an Uncle of mine, and it came with Windows 7 starter. I decided to upgrade it to Ultimate, seeing as I have the CD. I copied the contents of the CD to a flash and transferred it to the Toshiba. When I opened the setup.exe, a small window popped out and gave a prompt for a split second. I had to take a screenshot to get what the prompt was. It was 'Program too big to fit in memory'. I've tried stopping some processes that weren't necessary in order to free up computer memory usage but it didn't work.
    I really want to get this OS up to Ultimate, any help please? Thanks in advance
     
  2. robes3393

    robes3393

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Have you tried installing Windows 7 Ultimate with the CD and not from a flash drive?
     
  3. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,631
    don't think it has an Optical drive
     
  4. clickstaar

    clickstaar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    huggie54's right. There's no drive.. that's why I decided to go with a flash. Any other ideas you can share?
     
  5. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,631
  6. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,852
    How much RAM is on this netbook and how big is the diskdrive?

    A lot of these "Starter" machines can not handle the bigger versions of Windows 7.
     
  7. clickstaar

    clickstaar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    @huggie54 I tried the link.. but each time I got to the part of formatting my flash I kept getting the error 'DiskPart has encountered an error: The parameter is incorrect. See the System Event Log for more information'. Unfortunately I don't know how to access the system event log.
    @DaveA it's got a 1GB RAM and a 223GB HDD
     
  8. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,166
    To be honest with you, I think you will be disappointed in running ultimate on a netbook with only 1Gb ram and a 1.6Ghz processor. It will run faster than starter, but not that much faster, and there will be features in Ultimate that you will not be able to use. I run Home Premium on a netbook (different manufacturer but same specs) and it runs very well though still not a speed demon.
     
  9. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,631
  10. clickstaar

    clickstaar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    The system doesn't have a CD drive, except I would kinda have to buy an external CD drive
     
  11. clickstaar

    clickstaar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    I understand that using Ultimate on a netbook won't be to it's maximum capacity, but there are tweaks I could make to increase the efficiency
     
  12. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,852
    Then get better hardware that is designed for the bigger Windows 7 product.
     
  13. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,485
    If you are getting the (The parameter is incorrect) you are inputting the command incorrectly. Sometimes it is easier to follow a video tutorial. Go to TR Dojo: Install Windows 7 from a USB flash drive and follow the video.
     
  14. clickstaar

    clickstaar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    That one actually worked.. then when I got to copying the contents of the CD unto the flash, some .dll files wouldn't copy. Kept getting the error that they were either not found or corrupted. Thanks for the link nevertheless... I'm not sure this problem is :/
     
  15. clickstaar

    clickstaar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/964701