1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Programs unable to connect to the internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by nipsy, Mar 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nipsy

    nipsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Lately, I've had problems with a few programs unable to connect to the internet. They all tell me to check my network connection, but I am always connected.

    I've googled the problem a handful of times, and the only answer I can find is to make sure that my firewall allows these programs through, which I've set them to be able to. I've even turned off the Firewall temporarily, both the Windows firewall, and the one with my anti-virus (avast), and they still can't connect.

    I've done every thing I can think of to fix the issue, but I just can't figure it out. This is making it so I can't update iTunes, access my steam account, or watch blu-rays on my computer (one program I couldn't even install because it couldn't access the internet to verify the installation, one can't play blu-rays without an internet connection, and the blu-ray VLC addon can only play a handful of titles.)

    If anyone knows of anything non-firewall related (or something I might have missed in the Firewall settings) please help. I use Windows 7 64 bit.

    Here's some screenshots of the issues from programs, and my firewall settings.

    Freesmith blu-ray player:

    [​IMG]

    Firewall settings, showing Freesmith and iTunes

    [​IMG]

    More firewall settings

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. peonowns

    peonowns

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    You checked the ports that need to be open for those programs to work and made sure they are on your router?.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    how are you connected to the router - cable or wireless

    do you have any orther firewall / security suite on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    i would suggest updating the network adapter
    whats the make and model of the PC?

    would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. nipsy

    nipsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    How do I do this?
     
  5. nipsy

    nipsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    I can connect to the internet, just a handful of programs cannot.
     
  6. peonowns

    peonowns

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Go to this link

    http://portforward.com/

    Select the router you have
    Then select the game or programe.g steam.

    Will then be a full guide on how to do it with pics etc.

    BUT

    Please read up on opening ports risks etc.
     
  7. peonowns

    peonowns

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    If you get stuck just let me know or mark as solved if it works :D.
     
  8. nipsy

    nipsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    I'm stuck here:

    [​IMG]

    I don't know what the port should be?
     
  9. peonowns

    peonowns

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    post me the link please.

    Also remove the image if that is your private ip address!.
     
  10. nipsy

    nipsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Well another problem is, they don't have my router listed, so I was following instructions from another model (same company).

    But I was following this guide, and got stuck when it was telling me to create a virtual server.
     
  11. peonowns

    peonowns

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    What model is your router?.
     
  12. nipsy

    nipsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    dg860a
     
  13. peonowns

    peonowns

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    2 mins just pulling up the routers documents,
     
  14. peonowns

    peonowns

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Under "Inbound Port" enter the starting port range to be forwarded.
    Example: 2100-3100

    Next choose your "Type"

    Enter the computers IP address in "Private IP Address"

    In "Private Port" enter the ending port range to be forwarded.
    Example: 3100-4100

    So go back on portforward and click the program you need opening and follow the instruction that it shows.

    so for steam try this link.
    http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Arris/TM501b/Steam_Client.htm
     
  15. nipsy

    nipsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    The weird thing is, steam and itunes have been working fine lately. It's just this FreeSmith program and CyberLink I can't get to connect, and neither of those are on that list.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1093665

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice