1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Proxies Disabled?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by gethedge, Jan 21, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gethedge

    gethedge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Does anyone here know how to enter a proxy into a browser, especially ie, if it has been disabled? To clarify, if you cannot get to it using tools>internet options>connections>Lan Settings.

    Any help would be appreciated. Thank you
    :p
     
  2. Dark Star

    Dark Star

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,054
    Go to tools>internet options>connections> settings> place a checkmark on "use proxy server" this will enable you to enter the proxy address and the port.

    let us know how that worked for you..........

    DS
     
  3. Ratboy

    Ratboy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    gethedge,

    Just to clarify things, is the 'LAN Settings' button not available (greyed out) or is the 'Proxy' section (once you click on the 'LAN Settings' button) not available?

    If the latter, you may have a IE Control Panel Restriction enabled.

    To disable the Restriction:

    Run Regedit and make a backup copy of the Registry.

    Navigate to the following key:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel

    Look the Value named 'Proxy'. If it has a Data value of 1 then modify it to be 0 (Zero not the letter O).

    This will disable the restriction and you will be able to select 'Use a proxy server...'
     
  4. gethedge

    gethedge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    The connections tab is missing under the internet options thing, it was disabled by network adm., i assume. I will try that ratboy, and get back to you, thank you for your help.
     
  5. Ratboy

    Ratboy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    Look fo the Value: "ConnectionsTab"

    I would suggest checking with the Network Admin before making any changes though.
     
  6. gethedge

    gethedge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    access to the regesty has been disabled
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Proxies Disabled
  1. asmith04
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    236
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65789

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice