1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Proxy Server Refusing Connections"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Cheesythenoob, Sep 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cheesythenoob

    Cheesythenoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Not sure if this is the right section but..

    Hi, I dont know much about technology and recently (yesterday) i encountered a problem

    Yesterday and i was browsing the internet, everything was fine, and then these "zonedg.com" pop ups would appear every 2 or so minutes from my anitviruis. So in reponse i deleted my antiviruis and decided to replace it with this "Bitdefender Total security 2012" that I bought. I scanned my PC and it deleted some malware and stuff. And everything was fine again.

    But then... (this is the problem im having now) when i started up firefox it gave me this message:

    The proxy server is refusing connections


    Firefox is configured to use a proxy server that is refusing connections.



    Check the proxy settings to make sure that they are correct.
    Contact your network administrator to make sure the proxy server is
    working.

    So I got on my other computer and searched up the problem and many people suggested turning the settings to "automatically detect proxy settings", which worked, however I found that when i switched to this options my internet was very slow (i.e. I coulnt watch you tube videos over 480 p). I also couldnt get this streaming program to work (GomTv).

    Anyway so I was wondering..
    What's the reason behind behind my network losing its proxy settings?

    How Can I get my Proxy Settings Back?


    Thanks in Advance


    p.S. Sorry I like to ramble on so much >.<
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Does firefox show it is using Proxy server settings? And am i correct you did "auto-detect proxy settings"? If so, set that to No Proxy

    Does IE have the same symptoms?
     
  3. Cheesythenoob

    Cheesythenoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5

    internet Explorer and Google Chrone all have the same symptons,

    Yes. I setted it to "auto-detect settings", and now its no proxy

    Btw. I dont think there is a difference, since my proxy info is now all gone. (i think)
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    in IE, check Tools > Internet Options > Connections Tab > LAN Setttings. What settings is selected here?
     
  5. Cheesythenoob

    Cheesythenoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Ah.
    It was "use proxy server for your LAN"
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    yup, switch to none (uncheck)
     
  7. Cheesythenoob

    Cheesythenoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Ok Done.

    Thanks for your help

    But I was wondering what happened to my proxy server?

    Why cant my internet browser find it? It it possible to get it back?

    sorry to be so much trouble =[
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You have a malware issue. Your security software alerted you to that fact, and you responded by uninstalling the security software.
     
  9. Cheesythenoob

    Cheesythenoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    yeah.. i kinda realised that was a dumb move, but at that point, i had already decided to change antivirus (it was a free avast one)

    And didnt just uninstall because i got pissed =/

    I uninstalled to install the new one
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    The new one may have changed it... security suites like to do that.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. larhat
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    255
  2. ramesh_itguy
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    282
  3. ESACHT
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    342
  4. Squashman
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,895
  5. SandraG
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    522
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1016712