1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Proxy Server Setting in Group Policy

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by kazak, Dec 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kazak

    kazak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Hi,

    We have a proxy server in our office that we use when surfing to prohibit certain websites in the office. The problem is our users go to connections tab in IE and uncheck the proxy server to access the prohibited sites. Is there a way I can force the users to use the proxy server and not let them be able to remove the proxy settings?

    Thanks.
     
  2. TacticalSniper

    TacticalSniper

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    This thread says it's in: User Configuration > Windows Settings >
    Internet Explorer Maintenance > Connection > Proxy Settings
     
  3. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    You'll also want to go to:
    Computer or User Configuration | Administrative Templates | Windows Components | Internet Explorer
    You can Enable the Disable changing proxy settings option in the right pane
    Or go one level father to Internet Control Panel and you can enable the Disable the Connections page option so it won't appear, then they can't get to that setting to even try to change it.

    Of course, if they have Admin accounts, they can easily get around any policy you set.
     
  4. kazak

    kazak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for all the help. I have successfully set the proxy server settings in the group policy and also set the group policy to hide the connections tab in IE. Now for desktop users they have no problems.

    However for laptop users when they bring their laptops home, they are not able to surf net as their home network is not able to see the proxy server.
    Is there a way I can set the proxy settings to be applied only when connected to domain and the proxy settings to be disabled only connected to other networks?

    Thanks.
     
  5. TacticalSniper

    TacticalSniper

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Well, this is far from the best way, but where I work I set up a separate OU for laptop users, blocked GPO inheritance and set up a separate policy for those.
     
  6. LinuxHacker

    LinuxHacker

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    140
    you should never use the default domain policy for changes that are not already set. always use another GPO.
     
  7. kazak

    kazak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Hi I dun get what you mean by that? I can move the laptop users to a serperate OU, but what by blocked GPO inheritance?
     
  8. kazak

    kazak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    If I create a new OU and put my laptop users there, and I disable GPO inheritance. It just means that the group policies that were applied to the main OU will not be inherited to the sub OUs rite? How would this help? I want the users to use the proxy server when in Domain only. When not in domain they should not use the proxy settings.
     
  9. TacticalSniper

    TacticalSniper

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Right. I understand what you mean now. IMO you would not be able to do this though GPO. You would need something like Microsoft's ISA Server (or an open-source project such as Untangle).
     
  10. LinuxHacker

    LinuxHacker

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    140
    I have a VBScript you can use that will set it at login and remove it at logoff. You can use it as a domain startup script so it will only happen onsite. It only works for IE tho (as do GPOs).
     
  11. decz

    decz

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    So if you go the domain login script route you might want to block them from browsing out to websites of chrome, firefox, etc. ;) That can be set in Internet Options > Content Adviser.
     
  12. LinuxHacker

    LinuxHacker

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    140
    What do you use for web filtering? You can setup a nice filter by using Squid/squidGuard. It's free under GNU. You can make it inline so any device accessing the internet will be filtered. No GPO's or scripts.
     
  13. ramesh_itguy

    ramesh_itguy

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Hi kazak this is ramesh i need ur help.I planned to install proxyserver in my office may i know how to do this .Please help me ya.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/882535