1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PS/2 Mouse?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tomsxp, Jan 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tomsxp

    tomsxp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    375
    Hello Everyone: I just bought a HP 533W Computer with preinstalled xp, and It looked good (in the box) but come to find out it has a combo cdrw-dvdrom and the Monitor is a older looking one 17inch (looks like 15) but anyway i just got it has a backup to my main pc! But the mouse on this thing works good one minute then slows and even stops when surfing webpages! I adjusted the accelleration to highest and i uninstalled and reinstalled it, but still does the same thing, is there any adjustments i can do in the Advanced settings (Properties) that would help? Or does this have anything to do with the monitor? Anyone have this problem? Thanks, Tom
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Have you tried take the mouse ball out and cleaning the insides. Dust gets wrapped around the rollers and can make the performance pretty bad.

    Also sometimes they just get worn out and you need a new one.
     
  3. tomsxp

    tomsxp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    375
    Yes i did, even though this is a Brand New pc!
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If it's new and doesn't work, sounds like a call to HP. You might want to try another mouse just in case. It might save you the hours they'll keep you on the phone ;-)
     
  5. tomsxp

    tomsxp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    375
    I will try another mouse, and see! thanks
     
  6. tomsxp

    tomsxp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    375
    I switched my old mouse to this New PC (on it now) and it works great, there is not even a hint of slow ups or stops, it has lightning speed! So i guess the new mouse must be defective after-all Right?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112193

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice