PS3 DNS error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Monsterrt

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
5
I keep losing internet connection on my playstation, and i'm getting a DNS error code 80710102. I've been researching how to fix it myself and so far nothing has solved my problem. Is there something that I can do to fix it?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
223
Hi Monsterrt,

Try following this guide I found...

Playstation Community Forum

Seems this little bit of genius has saved a lot of PS3 gamers in the same position as you.

If you need any help configuring your network drop another post. :)
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,243
Well that would be your router, or your modem if your PS3 is connected directly.

Do you have a router?
 

Monsterrt

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
5
Its not connected directly just wireless, I still pick up 100% signal and it works and connected before, it just signs out and I get that DNS error
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,243
You may have wireless interference. But you didn't answer the question, do you have a router?

FYI, that error is a generic message, it can be other things, not strictly DNS
 

Monsterrt

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
5
Yes I use a router, I had this problem with the last router I was using also, and it was a different internet provider
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,243
Are you using Automatic Settings? (DHCP)

If so check your Internet Settings and let me know what your IP, subnet, gateway and DNS settings are. If the IP address does not start with 192.168. then that may be a problem
 

Monsterrt

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
5
Yea its auto for DHCP and sometimes I get that DNS problem sometimes I dont, like right now its fine
IP 192.168.0.11
Subnet 255.255.255.0
primary DNS 129.250.35.250
secondary DNS 129.250.35.251
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,243
when you get the error, quickly check your settings again and see if it changes
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top