1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

pskill.exe / Killit.exe

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Tinker-2006, Feb 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tinker-2006

    Tinker-2006 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    I ran a Panda online Scan and found 3 entries listed below. I have located the .exe files and deleted them. On a reboot they appear to be gone.

    Will i be fine now and do you have any info on these files?

    Thnx

    Tinker



    Potentially unwanted tool:Application/Pskill.A Not disinfected C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator\Local Settings\Temp\pskill.exe
    Potentially unwanted tool:Application/KillApp.B Not disinfected C:\hp\bin\KillIt.exe
    Potentially unwanted tool:Application/Pskill.A Not disinfected C:\WINDOWS\Motive\btbb\pskill.exe
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    These are what anti-virus programs identify as unwanted tools.
    They are not viruses or anything like that.
    They are programs normally bundled on your system that have the ability to 'kill' - a utility that can terminate processes on the local computer.
     
  3. Tinker-2006

    Tinker-2006 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Oki Thnx

    I have had problems for 2-3 Days now. X-Fire taking 20-30 seconds to load. My Internet unexplained dropped conex for upto 2 Hours at a time. However i have 2 PC`s, both running the same connection. Only this PC has had problems. Thing is, i ran a Panda Scan only last week and these were not detected then, also i had no issues then. But all is faster than ever now.

    I noticed that it is possible with the right commands to terminate a process on a Remote Computer if i have an account to 1. I do have an account to 1, a gaming Server, this has also suffered lag in the past week.

    Am i a little paranoid? If these exe files were already there, is it fair to say someone were accessing them and running them?

    Thnx again

    Tinker
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    You're welcome
    I couldn't say for sure quite honestly
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542654

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice