PSU Fried Components

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TroubledSystem

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
10
Hello, I am having trouble with my newly built system.

The PC ran fine for a hour, I managed to install windows 10 Pro to the SSD, after restarting to finalize windows installation system refused to post, screen went black.

I assumed the problem was my old Gigabyte GTX 670 and swapped it out to my newer card MSI GTX 1060 6GT OC, system still refused to post.

New system specs -
Motherboard: Asrock H270 Pro4
PSU: Coolermaster B600 V2
CPU: Intel i5 7600K
RAM: Crucial 4GB x2 DDR4 2400 MHz (can't link the product, Crucial is having problems with the site)
Cooler: Idcooling Frostflow 240L - W

I tried other PCI express slots on both of the motherboards, and with both my old PSU and the new one.
Should I assume that the PSU killed the PCI express slots on my old motherboard too? I can't test this, no more GPU's that previously worked...

Now I am sitting here with 2 dead cards and a dead motherboard, I am assuming that the Coolermaster PSU fried the components, is there any way to confirm the source of my troubles? I am certainly not going to plug the new PSU on my old system.

I have tried both GPU's to my old system, black screen and fans spinning on both.
Should I RMA the PSU, and hope for the best on GPU's and motherboard?
I am not sure about the damage on CPU and RAM, I can only hope that they didn't die too.
The ssd is fine, tested it with my old system.

I am aware that if the PSU fried the motherboard and GPU's there is little to no chance get my GPU's and motherboard fixed via warranty, since it wasn't their product that failed.

All the problems started after restart button was pressed, all was smooth sailing before that.

I tried to include everything, hopefully this helps with the trouble shooting.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
Have you tried using the onboard video with no GPU installed in the PC?
Your CPU has Intel HD Graphics 630 and the system board has video connectors.
 

TroubledSystem

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
10
Have you tried using the onboard video with no GPU installed in the PC?
Your CPU has Intel HD Graphics 630 and the system board has video connectors.
Hey Davis!

Yes, I have tried the onboard graphics, still black screening.

I also tried my old PSU on the new system, nothing changed.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,792
I do not think it is the PSU
unless of course you have some evidence of damage to components

I would tend more to suspect bad connections - overclocking - or indeed overheating - was there any warning signs

I was going to suggest as now posted by my colleague the onboard graphics

I would start with a check of all connections especially main and aux 12v power and then if still no good I would reset cmos and then if still not a post I would try out of case build and see if with only the necessary components you get a post

I would also carefully check system panel header connection page 20 of manual
 
Last edited:

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,906
Do you get anything on the screen at all ? What make and model is the old motherboard ?
 
Last edited:

TroubledSystem

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
10
I do not think it is the PSU
unless of course you have some evidence of damage to components

I would tend more to suspect bad connections - overclocking - or indeed overheating - was there any warning signs

I was going to suggest as now posted by my colleague the onboard graphics

I would start with a check of all connections especially main and aux 12v power and then if still no good I would reset cmos and then if still not a post I would try out of case build and see if with only the necessary components you get a post

I would also carefully check system panel header connection page 20 of manual
I didn't OC the system, didn't have time to do that, temperatures were around 36-39 Celcius, the cooling was fine.

I reset CMOS and cleared my old system with DDU, the GPU started working again on my old system!

The new system now powers on for 3-6 seconds and shuts down, after that it powers on until it is manually shut down.

I might start taking the system apart and testing it only with CPU attached to it.
 

TroubledSystem

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
10

I have now taken apart the whole system-
Imgur link
Still not posting, I tried without RAM too, still powering the system on for 3-6 seconds, shutting down and after that the system stays on.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
1) Have you seen the monitor work on another PC; hopefully, with the same interface cable you are using on the new PC? (i.e. VGA, HDMI, DVI, etc.)
2) That image you posted has no monitor connected, at all.
3) If you connect a speaker to the speaker connector, it should give you beep codes for what it thinks is wrong. Have you tried that?
4) Unplug the front panel reset switch! (Its rare as h#ll; but, I have seen them get stuck)
 

TroubledSystem

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
10
1) I have tried 3 different monitors with 3 different cables, VGA, DVI, HDMI
2)I did connect a monitor after taking that picture, I have a small desk so it would've made taking a picture alot harder.
3)no I haven't I dont think I have a speaker for that
4) that's a power button, I took of reset and all the other frontpanel connectors before trying powering the system up again.

I have now contacted the company that shipped the motherboard to me, I am waiting for an aswer from there, I also contacted computer specialist, he said that the motherboard is probably dead and everything else is still fine, PSU wasn't the problem after all.

I just have to hope that the CPU is fine, don't have LGA 1151 socket board to test it, sadly.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,792
Indeed
I do not think it is the PSU
I am still confused
Still not posting, I tried without RAM too, still powering the system on for 3-6 seconds, shutting down and after that the system stays on.
So when it shuts down - what exactly do you mean by the system stays on - please as it is IMHO open to interpretation

Are you sure you have the CPU cooler connected correctly
http://www.idcooling.com/Uploads/1449133775.pdf

Also check fan cable connections on board ensure you have correct headers in use
http://asrock.nl/downloadsite/Manual/H270 Pro4.pdf

If the Intel i57600K was a boxed version with the stock cooler I would try that

If that fails I would RMA the board
 
Last edited:

TroubledSystem

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
10
After powering on, the system stays online for 3-6 seconds and after that shuts down completely, fans off everything off, after few seconds the system starts back up again automatically and stays on untill I force shutdown it by holding powerbutton for few seconds.

I had the cooler fans connected to CPU pin and pump to its dedicated header, so it would get steady flow of power no ramping up and down.
Also tried to switch the pump to CPU header, nothing changed.

I did the last test on motherboard box without having anything else connected other than cpu, cooler, 24-pin, 8-pin and dvi, I powered the system on with screwdriver and one memory stick, no results.

If the CPU would be broken anything wouldn't power on, so I am trusting in that and going to RMA the broken board and buy a new one, probably more expensive one to replace that.

And the CPU had no box cooler with it.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,792
I am sorry I cannot follow what you have where or what you have done
had the cooler fans connected to CPU pin and pump to its dedicated header, so it would get steady flow of power no ramping up and down.
Also tried to switch the pump to CPU header, nothing changed
see my link and pages of your manual 22 and 23

Good luck with it
Please let us know how it goes

If not the board may be slight chance that PSU is not suitable for 7th generation CPU suggest you ask Coolermaster if it is
 

TroubledSystem

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
10
I am sorry I cannot follow what you have where or what you have done
This is my last attempt at trying to explain my self
Picture

My paint skills are not on point but I think it does the job, I tried to switch the cables around too, so the pump would draw power from the CPU header, it didn't help.
 

Johnny b

John
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
7,061
Hi TS :)

Something to consider.

Try trouble shooting with your components on a non conductive surface rather than in the case. Sometimes shorts to the case are difficult to spot.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top