1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved PSU to GPU power cabling

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Edd643, Aug 9, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Edd643

    Edd643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Hello,

    I have a acquired a msi gtx 970 gaming 4g and have no cables.

    It has a 6 and 8 pin plugs.

    My PSU is a jeantech jnp-700-a12c and has 2x 6 pin pcie outlets.

    Can anyone help and tell me what is required to get this going.

    Thank you
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,984
    What you need is a new pw supply. Attempting to use your current pw supply is just asking for a problem.
    Good ie recommended brands; corsair [AX, HX, or RM models ONLY] seasonic, antec [HCG] models ONLY or FSP [only units with the 5yr warranty]
     
  3. Edd643

    Edd643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Yes great idea buying a new psu but not an option atm. Like I said I acquired the card off a friend. The peak power output of the gpu is 278w and 2x pcie is 300w. So I know not great but I have ordered a cable 6 to 8 pin. Hope for the best I guess.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,984
    As I said, you are asking for a problem. Cheap, low quality pw supplies often fry other parts when they fail ie motherboard, processor, video, etc. Up to you IF you want to attempt to use that pw supply.
     
  5. Edd643

    Edd643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    So if I am forced to get a new psu what is a good budget one with 8 pin pcie. Not sure what wattage I will require.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,984
    Brands already recommended to you in post #2.
    As for a wattage rating, you would need to post ALL of your exact system specs. With that card, at least 550W and that would really be cutting it pretty thin on any reserve pw; better would be 600~650W.
     
  7. Edd643

    Edd643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    OK will a corsair cx550m be enough power? I used a calculator and it says it's OK?? Or could get the 650 with fixed cables, maybe stretch for the 750 with fixed cables


    Asrock z77 with i5 6500
    2x 8 gb corsair 1600 ddr3
    Gtx 970 gaming 4g
    2x ssd
    1x ide
    1x dvd
    6x fans
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,984
    OK, you are not reading the posts. In regard to a corsair, the ONLY ones recommended for a gaming system are the AX, HX, or RM models. The CX series is for a basic build ie onchip video; not running a gaming card.
     
  9. Edd643

    Edd643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Ah sorry my amazon search went crazy. I was searching for RM. OK back to the search
     
  10. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,984
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,984
  12. Edd643

    Edd643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
  13. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,984
    Your link does not work however seasonic is fine.
     
  14. Edd643

    Edd643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Yeah amazon link won't copy. Its the one you said. Pretty good price. £70 down from £90

    When I connect up to gpu there is a 6 pin and an 8 pin. Are they both going to be pcie or will one be a 12v feed
     
  15. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,984
    It should be labeled pcie on the connectors. Makes it pretty easy.
    There should be two 6+2 connectors.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1231230

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice