1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Psu

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Seth13, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    I'm looking to upgrade to this card:

    X1900XT

    It says that it requires 450w powersupply, and I currently have:

    480 Watt
    (It was more when I purchased it about a year ago)

    But I'm not sure if I should upgrade to something like this:

    500 Watt

    Could I please get some of your opinions? Thanks a lot.:eek:
     
  2. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    Both of those are pretty junky power supplies.

    What are the specs for the rest of your system? I think if you're going to spend $200 on a video card you should spend enough money on the PSU to protect it properly.
     
  3. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Rosewill is a low end power supply. I would suggest you look at a PSU manufactured by
    PC Power & Cooling, Antec, Seasonic, Enermax, Cooler Master, or Thermaltake.

    Also, the board you referenced indicates there is a PCI-e connector on the board and the Rosewill you chose does not indicate that it has a PCI-e connector.
     
  4. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    3.2 ghz P4
    2gb ddr2(not sure the clock speed, im not at my house so I can't check)
    X1900XT
     
  5. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    The motherboard?

    That's important--you need to verify if you have the correct slot for that card.

    If you can't find it, go here and download CPU-Z:

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
     
  6. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    I don't really want to spend too much money. I'm only holding out till summer when I go away to college.
     
  7. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    I'm positive I have a PCI-e slot. I'm currently using a eVGA 6800GS, running on a PCI-e slot.
     
  8. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
  9. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Yeah, thats the one I was looking at. Thanks.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537512

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice