Solved Pup.Optional.SoftonicAssistant

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Serge2012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
349
Hi,

I was running a scan with Malwarebytes AdwCleaner and found the malware on my HP laptop Pup.Optional.SoftonicAssistant (I use Windows 10). Each time I try to remove it with clean and repair but when I ran a new scan it keeps reappearing.... How can I remove it for good?

Thanks for your help.

Serge
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
look at the malware bytes log & see exactly where it is finding the offending file(s)
It is probably inside a zip or a MSi installer, so it will be continually detected until you delete the installer.

MBAM clean is trying to remove from inside the zip or installer file & that will be read only, so it can't be removed.
 

Serge2012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
349
Hi,

Thanks for your reply. Here's the information I found on the log :

PUP.Optional.SofTonicAssistant HKCU\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\AppContainer\Storage\microsoft.microsoftedge_8wekyb3d8bbwe\Children\001\Internet Explorer\DOMStorage\ytd-video-downloader-free.en.softonic.com

PUP.Optional.SofTonicAssistant HKCU\Software\Classes\Local
Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\AppContainer\Storage\microsoft.microsoftedge_8wekyb3d8bbwe\Children\001\Internet Explorer\EdpDomStorage\ytd-video-downloader-free.en.softonic.com
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
the only way to remove that is uninstall ytd video downloader and then let MBAM fix the entries
 

Serge2012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
349
Hi,

I removed it and did another scan afterwards but I still have the same problems.... It's very weird because I had YouTube Downloader for a long time and never had any issue with it and MBAM never detected anything in previous scans. I really don't get it!....

Joyeux Noel to you and your family if you celebrate Christmas and hopefully I'll hear from you after the holiday.

Serge
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
that looks like they are flash cookies in Internet explorer & edge
open IE/tools/advanced/scroll down & uncheck use dom storage
then empty temp internet files in IE & edge
then go back to IE & re-enable dom storage
that should fix it
 

Serge2012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
349
Hi,

Thanks. I did that and ran a new scan, it seems to be fine now so I'm going to close this thread. Thanks again.

Serge
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top