1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

purchasing laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by isaacS2, Aug 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. isaacS2

    isaacS2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I'm not sure if I'm on the right board or not, but I'm giving this a go.

    I have a superb desktop but recently a need has arose for a laptop. I need something rather cheap, my expenses are up right now and I can't really go over $500, (I know, not many good ones that cheap)

    My only requirements (other than the standard stuff) is the ability to smoothly run all Adobe CS2 applications (not simultaneously), would you say any of these computers could handle it?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834101058
    http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?pfp=BROWSE&No=60&N=200334&product_code=346852#ts
    http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?pfp=BROWSE&No=140&N=200334&product_code=346849
     
  2. StellarPlacebo

    StellarPlacebo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Don't know if you're in the US or not but here's a good deal from Circuit City through today.

    http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Lapt...63+40000910/link/ref/rpem/ccd/categorylist.do

    I've had good luck with the Compaq Presario laptops. Any one you get though I would recommend getting their equivalent of the Bright Screen . It really makes a difference being able to see well. The rebuilds you listed do not have a bright screen equivalent. They also only have a 90 day warranty vs. a 1 year warranty.
     
  3. isaacS2

    isaacS2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    That is a great deal, is that regular price or is it a sale? If so, how long does it last?
     
  4. StellarPlacebo

    StellarPlacebo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Sorry, that one expired yesterday. If you'll notice the link now says it's for sale for $620. I would recommend you check your Sunday local paper for flyers with ads to Best Buy, Circuit City, Office Depot, etc. Like I said, I would also recommend new instead of rebuilt to get the 1 year warranty. Also you will be getting Vista now so get at least 1 GB of ram or it will be slow, preferably get 2 GB.

    Here is a link to one at Best Buy that I think would be an excellent deal. I have pretty much the same model and have had good luck with it. But remember they only keep this price for a week. Next Sunday it will be different.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8404158&type=product&id=1180743304365

    Here is another cheaper one at the same place but it only has 512 MB ram. You can get another stick of 1 GB ram for under $50 I think now. But I'm not familiar with the Gateway brand quality, reliability, etc.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...abComputerSP&sp=+brand+skuid&usc=abcat0500000
     
  5. StellarPlacebo

    StellarPlacebo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    37
  6. isaacS2

    isaacS2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    wait, you're sure the gateway 520 could handle Adobe CS2?
     
  7. StellarPlacebo

    StellarPlacebo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    37
  8. StellarPlacebo

    StellarPlacebo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    With Vista it won't be blazing fast with 512 MB ram, but you can always try it and take it back if it won't do it, or add ram.
     
  9. StellarPlacebo

    StellarPlacebo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    37
  10. StellarPlacebo

    StellarPlacebo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    I just had another thought. You should check with Adobe to see if they have drivers for Vista for CS2 yet or are planning to supply them. If not, you may want to find a referb or used laptop at a local shop that runs XP. It looks like your Adobe CS2 is an expensive program.
     
  11. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,144
    Stellar Placebo
    your first link (in my opinion) is the better buy because it is Vista Home Premium...From all that I have heard/read one should get the premium version.
    Vicks
     
  12. StellarPlacebo

    StellarPlacebo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    37
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/615201

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice