1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PXE E-53: No boot filename received

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by vanessa88, May 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vanessa88

vanessa88 Thread Starter

PXE E-53: No boot filename received hey guys,

i have an Acer Aspire m5100 with an AMD 64x2 Athion processor running windows vista. I know its not the best but its all i have right now. Im a novice when it comes to technical computer terms and the like, so please try and help me out in a way in which an average pc user would understand.

When i started the pc up this morning, i received the message dhcp......... then PXE E53:no boot filename received. PXE-mof-exiting PXE ROM. Disk boot failure insert system disk and press enter. I dont have the system disk though.

It also says "Yukon PXE V6.15.11 (alpha) (20070328) Pre-boot execution environment v2.1

plus the mac address and the GUID.

My computer was working fine last night so i dont understand what the problem could be. Could this be a virus? I apologize if i sound dumb asking this but i dont have much experience with computers. PLEASE HELP!!!

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    If you turn it off then back on does it work?

Whats happening is that its trying to boot from a Network rather then the hard drive. Which usually means the hard drive is not detected.

Enter the BIOS setup, F2 or F10 I believe, and see if its detecting the hard drive. Also check the boot order, make sure the hard drive is the first item in the list.

3. digitalsatori

digitalsatori

Hi there!