1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Q Basic

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Delta Dart, Jan 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Delta Dart

    Delta Dart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Hello All
    Anyone out there know if there is a way to make the old QBasic program work with WIN 2K. If I have been informed correctly I believe QBasic requires DOS to operate, and I have also been told WIN 2K does not have DOS capabilities. Is this correct?
    Thanks for any replies.
    Russ
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
  3. chatterjee

    chatterjee

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    573
    Qbasic works even on XP comfortably.If you don't have the qbasic file just post a request here,I'll give the link to download it.
     
  4. Delta Dart

    Delta Dart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Thanks for quick response. Sorry about the double post. Error on my part. Didn't think it went through the first time. My apologies.
    I copied the QBasic file I have from my WIN ME computer but when I try to open the program it displays a message box labeled "16 Bit MS-DOS Subsystem" with the following message. "Invalid startup directory.Check your PDF file". I assume the old program I have is incompatible with WIN 2K. I have had this program since WIN 95.
    I would appreciate info for the download link for a current WIN 2K version.

    Many Thanks again.
    Russ
     
  5. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Download and install it from here:
    http://telcontar.net/Misc/Gorillas/#qbasic
    There is a link to Qbasic at lower left.

    Just copying from ME may bring over the wrong setup, as the message shows (it is looking for a startup directory structuure that differs from your system).
    Installing from the link provided works fine in XP so should be OK in 2000
     
  6. chatterjee

    chatterjee

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    573
    Kiwiguy recieve thanks also from me for the link.

    Well,I had the simlar version of QBasic on my machine.It used to work fine for me but it had a little glitch.It didn't have the help file.So,whenever I ran the .exe file,a little window popped up and said that the help file was not installed.Now,this problem has been solved for downloading the file from the link given by you.Thanks once again,I'm very glad to bring back basic in its true colour.Thanks! :) :) :)
     
  7. Delta Dart

    Delta Dart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Thanks much kiwiguy. Got QBasic working.
    Russ
     
  8. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    No problem!
    Glad its all working.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/438617

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice