1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Qompact Memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ottone, Jul 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ottone

    ottone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Have a compaq Pentium 4 with half GB of memory.
    Have asked local computer shop to put 2 GB memory in the machine, i was quoted AU 475.
    I thought it was an exaggeration :confused: .
    I was told that compaq memory is different and expensive hence the price.
    Is that possible?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    by qompaq, do you mean compaq?
     
  3. ottone

    ottone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Humm yes sorry:eek:
     
  4. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    okay...
    do you know what model number it is
     
  5. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    thats a real big rip off... no 2GB RAM will cost £200/475AU
     
  6. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    i can help you find some good priced ones, if you tell me your model number
     
  7. ottone

    ottone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    No, cant check now as i am at a friend house a long distance away, will check as soon as i get home.
    Thanks
     
  8. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
  9. ottone

    ottone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    OK got it now =
    Presario SR1060AN
    Intel pentium 4 2.8
    Thanks
     
  10. smeggle

    smeggle

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    It's using PC3200 DDR from what I can see - Price shouldn't be more than $200 dollars at the highest for 2 x 1gb modules. Thats the highest price I found anyway..

    Think thats US dollars though btw
     
  11. ottone

    ottone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks a lot smeggle, US 200 is much less than AU 475.
    Think i will get 1 or 2 more quotes from local comp. shops.
    Thankyou :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/592988

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice