Question about APC ES-750 UPS

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
That one has 6 battery outlets but only 3 surge protection. I only have 3 things on the surge side now though.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
Thanks everyone for your input. I appreciate it. :)
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
2,719
Thanks everyone for your input. I appreciate it. :)
I have an old APC ES725 that my bother gave me because the battery went bad. I am using it on my old Core2Duo Computer.I upgraded it from the original 7amp battery to an 8amp (same size) to give it a better power rating. All it cost me was $24 for a new battery. Most of the batteries seem to last 2 1/2 to 3 years and I couldn't see buying a whle new unit when the electronics were still good. Had a battery die in my friends Cyber power brand and it started beeping! Replaced his with a 8 amp battery also. I have mine set for 1 minute of run time before it shuts down normally because I leave mine on all the time unless I have a severe thunderstorm or go out of town. I Have a new Cyber power pure sine wave unit on my new AMD Ryzen 7 3700X that I built last year to protect it. My area seems to have a few power glitches a month so that is why I have them. Hope your new unit works great for you, the APC units seam to be a little pricey, I only paid $129 for my Cyber power 600watt pure sine wave unit.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
720
On the APC site when I enter the one I currently have it says discontinued and recommends this one:

https://www.amazon.ca/APC-Schneider...hild=1&keywords=BE850G2&qid=1622848260&sr=8-1

I wonder if I should get that one instead.
That is similar to the one I have. The same shape anyway. Mine is a 650 and has a single USB charging port. Handy feature if you want to charge a phone if your power goes out. (not that I have used it)
I haven't had any issue with mine.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
720
The only things I plug into the battery backup side are what I need power to if there is a power outage. Everything else goes on the surge-only side.

BTW, does anyone think about printing during a power outage? :unsure:
In case your question was not rhetorical...

APC Battery Backup for Laser Printer
FEBRUARY 6, 2012 BY TONYLEAVE A COMMENT
It is not recommended to plug laser printers in to a UPS. Laser printers consume a lot of power during normal operation and especially at the initial time the fuser warms up. This large consumption of power can easily overload a UPS. Laser printers should be plugged directly into the wall socket. The power supplies on laser printers are designed for this use.

If you have a Back-UPS it is also not recommended to plug the laser printer in to the surge protected outlets. The power the laser printer consumes could have adverse affects on the rest of the protected equipment, even on the battery back up up side of the UPS.

https://www.apc.com/ca/en/faqs/FA158812/
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
@lynx1021

Thanks for the response. I'm in Canada and the prices here are a lot higher than in the U.S. It's slightly cheaper at Walmart $132.72 and NewEgg is $134.56 but that's not enough to incite me to create accounts with other merchants. I'm doing everything online at the moment and haven't ventured into retail stores except for grocery stores and pharmacies yet. I also checked with Staples and they don't even carry that particular model but the 650 I mentioned early sells for the same price as this one $139.99. Staples in the States sells the one I ordered for $124.99 so it's not that much cheaper. Also, here the replacement batteries cost almost as much as the units so I prefer just to get a new unit.

The APCs have always been good to me. I think I had my first one for longer than six years and only changed it because I bought a new computer and wanted to be sure it was properly protected but it hadn't failed yet.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
@SeanLaurence

Thanks again for the input. This one has two charging ports. I didn't even know they had that feature which sounds like a good one for the phone for sure.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
485
@SeanLaurence

Thanks again for the input. This one has two charging ports. I didn't even know they had that feature which sounds like a good one for the phone for sure.
My UPS for my main desktop does not have any charging ports. The last time the power went out I checked my phone and found that it was down to only 10%. I decide at that time my phone was more important than my laptop and depleted the laptop battery to charge my phone. The phone only got to 40% charge but that was enough to hold me over until power was restored. My second desktop really needs a new UPS because its battery died a long time ago. The new UPS for it will definitely have USB charging ports on it.

BTW, my phone has a USB-C connector. I have a both a USB-C to USB-A cable and a USB-C to USB-C cable. That is handy so that I can charge my phone on either a USB-C or USB-A port depending on what the other device has.
 
Last edited:

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
The last time the power went out I checked my phone and found that it was down to only 10%
I try to never let my phone get below 40% because I don't want to be stuck away from home and need to use it a lot like if you're at the hospital and have to contact several people, etc. with the chance of it running out.

I don't know what type of USB my phone cable is but it has the smaller end that you don't have to worry about which way it's facing to plug it in to the phone. When I had my Samsung phone it had to be the right way or it wouldn't go in to the phone. :)
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
I'm glad I cancelled my first order so quickly because they've already shipped the second one so I probably didn't have a big window of opportunity there before that one would have been shipped. It's supposed to arrive next Thursday.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
485
I don't know what type of USB my phone cable is but it has the smaller end that you don't have to worry about which way it's facing to plug it in to the phone. When I had my Samsung phone it had to be the right way or it wouldn't go in to the phone. :)
My Samsung S7 had a Micro-USB connector. It came with a Micro-USB to USB-A cable. The charger that came with it used a USB-A connector.

My new Samsung S21 has a USB-C connector. It came with a USB-C to USB-C cable. It did not come with a charger. The charger I bought used a USB-C connector.

My new Samsung Buds Plus has a USB-C connector. It came with a USB-C to USB-A cable. It did not come with a charger. To charge it I use a spare charger with a USB-A connector.

Both Micro-USB and USB-A cables can only be plugged in one way. USB-C cables are better because you can plug them in either way.

Most devices I have seen that have charge ports are of type USB-A. You need to take that into consideration. For example for my Samsung S7 I would use a Micro-USB to USB-A cable. For my Samsung S21 I would use a USB-C to USB-A cable.

BTW, I assume charge ports will slow charge any device plugged into them. That means it will probably take 4-5 hours to charge my phone. If I use my phones fast charger it will charge the phone in a little more that 1 hour.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
2,719
I have a type C on my motorola phone, doesn't matter which way you plug it in! 😁Glad yo have new UPS coming. I bought my batteries from a place on Ebay ($24) but have bought from them before and they are legit. You do have to be careful who you buy the gel batteries from and make sure they are a name brand and have been made in the last 6 months. Some bad guys will try to sell old batteries as new!
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
Thanks lynx1021. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top