1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Question about power supplies

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GibsonGuitarist, Sep 21, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. GibsonGuitarist

    GibsonGuitarist It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, I have a question.
    I have a Gateway DX 4885 desktop computer and want to upgrade the power supply on it as it's currently 300 watts. The issue seems to be that one of the connectors to the motherboard is only a 12 pin connector. Would you have any 400+ power supplies that have this 12 pin connector?
    Another question I have is if I got a 24 pin to 12 pin cable, would something like that work for a newer power supply available on the market?

    I know it's an older computer but it's came with a ton of memory (12 gigs) and still works like it did right out of the box. I just want to upgrade the power supply.
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,375
    Is there a particular reason for upgrading the PSU? If you not adding in hardware that requires additional wattage....I don't see why you would.

    With OEM retail PC's almost all of their hardware is proprietary, Meaning you have to buy their replacement parts.

    I've heard of users getting a after market PSU and using such a cable as you listed and everything worked.....but there is no guarantee.
     
  3. GibsonGuitarist

    GibsonGuitarist It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    I just wanted to add maybe a video card, nothing major, just don't want to blow the damn thing out...lol
    I checked with Acer and got the "Um yeah we don't think we have any of those."
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,160
    You have more issues than just the pw supply. That old of a system is not going to have the bios necessary for a modern video card. Sometimes the motherboard mfg has a bios update that allows support of modern video cards however since this is a gateway/acer, I highly doubt that a bios update would be released. You might be able to install an old video card however I do not think that is what you want to accomplish.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,786
    First Name:
    Frank
    If your Gateway DX4885 desktop is able to load its Windows operating system and has a working internet connection, please do the following in it:
    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return back here, then copy-and-paste its entire text in your reply.

    Also advise us what the exact SNID number on it is.
    I'm guessing yours has integrated Intel graphics and doesn't have a dedicated AMD or NVIDIA graphics card.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2019
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1233242

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice