Question about SUSE

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Captainkewl

Thread Starter
It's My Birthday!
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
121
I am running windows xp and linux suse on a dual boot. When I am using xp, websites load very fast (I have a high speed connection). But when I boot up suse and use the same browser (firefox), websites load painfully slow. I was just wondering why that was considering they are both using the same internet connection. Thanks
 

Captainkewl

Thread Starter
It's My Birthday!
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
121
Also I am not running swap as I have 1 GB of RAM. I don't think that should have anything to do with it.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
805
It's my understanding that Linux MUST have a /swap. I could be wrong, though. ;)
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
vtel57 said:
It's my understanding that Linux MUST have a /swap. I could be wrong, though. ;)
Yes you are wrong. :p

Can you download a second browser and test its speed. (Opera for example)
This would tell us whether your problem is Firefox related or system related.

Linux browsing should be on par and possibly even faster than Windows.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
805
Headrush said:
Yes you are wrong. :p
Yuppers! And that's why my Experience Level is listed as "Intermediate". I still have lots to learn... especially about Linux. ;)

By the way, I experience the exact opposite of this member. Back in my Windows days I couldn't use FF because it was soooo slow on XP. However, in Linux it's blazing fast.

Off I go...
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
vtel57 said:
Yuppers! And that's why my Experience Level is listed as "Intermediate". I still have lots to learn... especially about Linux. ;)
No matter what our experience level, we are all always learning.

vtel57 said:
By the way, I experience the exact opposite of this member. Back in my Windows days I couldn't use FF because it was soooo slow on XP. However, in Linux it's blazing fast.
Firefox is dog slow to load on both OSes, (unless you use a preloader), but browsing speed should be comparable. (At least with current versions.)
Could have been a simple configuration problem you had, but hopefully it won't matter as you will stick with Linux now anyways! ;)
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
805
I've been using FF 2.0 in both WinXP and Linux these days, and yes... it does load slowly, but the browsing speed is comparable in both OSes nowadays. I don't worry too much about loading speed because 1) I rarely ever boot to Windows these days... just to play games, usually, and 2) In Linux, once I initialize my system in the AM, FF stays open all day long in workspace 3.

Any YUP! Learning is a full time thing, especially with Linux. I'm having FUN, though, and that's what matters.

Later... :)

~Eric
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
vtel57, if you're interested, check out Firefox Preloader.

It will preload firefox in Windows, just like IE and will be much faster.

I've used Linux exclusively for many years now, but a few months ago I switched to OS X on a PC. (Until I bu my next machine.)
I get the polish of OS X but still can use many of my favourite Linux/KDE apps: Konqueror, Quanta, etc.
 

Captainkewl

Thread Starter
It's My Birthday!
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
121
Hey guys. I tried using opera as well but the speed is still very slow. When I use windows and go to a website, the page loads right away (very fast). When I use Suse, I have to wait about 10 seconds before anything even happens. I'm not sure if it could be something in the configuration or what, but it is horrendously slow compared to windows. It just doesn't make sense to me because I am using the same high speed internet connection with both. It's ticking me off, because I would much rather use Linux over windows any day, but I can't sacrifice that much of a speed loss. Thanks for your replies so far guys.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top