1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Question on using quotes in the forums

Discussion in 'Site Help, Feedback, & Announcements' started by parrotplay, Sep 25, 2003.

Advertisement
  1. parrotplay

    parrotplay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,299
    Hi...have a question regard quotes.

    How do you do this? Can one be added so it automatically shows when you post a thread, or reply to one?? See alot of others who have this going on...want to, also!!

    Thanx! TSG....ROCKS!!!

    parrotplay/Lee(ann);)
     
  2. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Like that? You can click on "Quote and a box will pop up where you can copy and paste. If the qoute is too big to fit, then you can type Quote in [], paste the text, then /Quote in[]. Did I make that clear?
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    report / quote / edit

    There are the choices.......
     
  4. anlore2001

    anlore2001

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    7,131
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Actually I believe you are talking about the sigantures at the bottom of people posts.

    User Panel --> Edit Profile --> Signature

    That will show the same text at the bottom of every post you have made on this board.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    /\ oh, yeah, and what he said too :D /\
     
  6. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    I'd like to butt in here for a moment... I have been using the quote thing for a while now, but I notice all thats shown is the word "Quote" above the actual quoted text. I've seen others that provide the source of the quote. Like "Quote from xxxx" or something like that. Can anyone clear that up for me. :confused:
     
  7. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    You can either hit the 'quote' link at the top of that person's post, or...

    (QUOTE)(i)Originally posted by xxxx:(/i)(b)
    Blah blah blah
    (/b)(/QUOTE)

    And of course, replace the ()'s with []'s
     
  8. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    Here's what it looks like using the "Quote" button:

    Here's my attempt to do as you indicated:

    EDIT.. I replaced all the () with [] . Was that correct?
     
  9. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    OK.. figured it out There needed to be a brackett set around the [/i] after the typed in "Originally posted by McTimson.

    By jove I think I've got it... Thanks McTimson
     
  10. parrotplay

    parrotplay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,299
    Hi all...thanx for your help...Anlore2001, you figured out what I was trying to say...and now...look at the bottom of my posts...!!

    Mucho Thanx!!! parrot
     
  11. anlore2001

    anlore2001

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    7,131
    First Name:
    Andrew
    your welcome Parrot :)
     
  12. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    Just a little test here... I created a template of the "Originally posted by" in Notepad and would like to try it out

    OK... Got it now. Here's a new entry from the modified template:

    It works!!!! :D Now my Rum soaked brain wont have to try to remember how to do that. Thanks to all who participated in my enlightenment. (y) :D
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    after the you need and also before the 'quote' at the end.
     
  14. wanabe_buck

    wanabe_buck Guest

    Am I missing something...if you click the quote button at the top right of a persons post it does the quoted by thing for you...no need to make a template...all you have to do is edit what you don't want to include

    buck
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    There's always someone in the crowd who wants to do it the hard way Buck ;)

    Off Topic:

    Did Wet Chicken contact you regarding his avatar????? I think he wants to lay some eggs :D I told him to track you down :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Question using quotes
  1. RT
    Replies:
    40
    Views:
    593

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167328

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice