1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Questions About Word Processing and Rich Text Formats?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Jack1000, May 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jack1000

Jack1000 Thread Starter

What is the significance of creating and saving Word Processed Documents in Rich Text Format? As a writer, I have experience in MS Word, Word Perfect, and Google Docs. I find that saving docs in RTF seems to create a much smaller file in MS Word, than saving a document in conventional DOC format. Furthermore, transferring files as downloads from Google Docs to Word seem to work better in RTF format than Doc formats.

I know that graphics sometimes do not transfer well to RTF formats. But other than that, what am I getting (or missing out) if I save something in Word as a RTF document? What I have noticed, when I worked in Word Perfect 12, the default file formats were generally 5-8 kb for simple letters. Using DOC extensions, when uploading from Google Docs, and saved in Word, (I have Word 2003 an upgrade disk from Word 97) that same Doc file format that used to be an RTF format expands to let's say 35kb. Is the data that is expanding in Conventional Word doc format really needed if you can get the same results as a RTF file? Or in using the Doc.extension in Word, is this Microsoft's way of just adding crap to a text file that is not needed?