Quick Launch Bar

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

garyhunz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
5
This has me baffled!

I use the Quick Launch Bar for my most often used programs and also for my most used Excel Spreadhseets. In the past, I'be been able to drag these links to Excel spreadsheets to the Quick Launch Bar, and the pop-up tooltip will display the Shortcut Name I've applied at the desktop. Recently however, as I've dragged new Excel links onto the Quick Launch Bar, rather than tooltips displaying the shortcut name, it now displays the file type, file uathor, filte title and file size. Older links continue to properly display only the shortcut name under tooltips.

What's wro0ng?

Thanks,
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
43
Hmmm.... That is baffling. What OS are you using? Here's one thing you can try (If you are using XP) Go to your documents and settings folder, and go to the folder with your user name. Make sure you can see hidden folders. Go to application data, then microsoft, then internet explorer, then quick launch. What is the shortcut called? If it isn't called what you want it to be, rename it. A much faster way of doing this (all OS's) is to right-click the shortcut, and go to rename. Rename it to an appropriate name.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
It sounds like to me that the file association has gone changed and Windows is doing the new function. Like BugMaster requested, what version of Windows you are running? Then we can suggestion how to fix it.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
I know the least about Windows 2000 and a easy recovery method. Can you give more details about the links in Excel that you drag to the Quick Launch menu? For example, how do you create them and maybe post a sample. Then I will try to recreate the situation and see how to correct it.
 

garyhunz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
5
Win2000 is a deep mystery to me.

Anyway, I create the links by opening Windows Explorer, right clicking on the file name and choosing "create shortcut. Once the shortcut is on the desktop, I drag it onto the Quick Launch bar. The shortcut launches just fine. The problem, as previsously discussed, is that the shortcut name I assign doesn't appear on the launchbar tooltips. Instead, all the exteraneous information discussed below appears.

Thanks for your help!
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
Are the new links that you create actually shown on the taskbar, or do you have to click on the two little << to be able to see them. The reason I ask this is that on my computer, the ones that are visible will display the tool tip with the name and the ones that I have to click for display the location information in tool tips.

Also, you don't have to create a shortcut to the desktop and then drag it to the quick launch bar. You can just drag from Explorer directly onto the bar and it will create the shortcut.
 

garyhunz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
5
The links in question (links displaying fully detailed information in tooltips-not short to the point name I've assigned) is displayed in the open on the launch bar (not hidden behind the expand selection >> arrows).

I know that links can be added to the quick launch bar either by dragging them from the desktop or by dragging them from the Explorer File Listing. In fact, for the links in question, I've tried both ways with no difference in the tooltip display of Detailed information.

When I rightclick on the links in question on the Quick Launch Bar and choose rename, the rename box displays the short name I've assigned to the link. However, tooltips continues to display all the extraneous information as well.

Ah, the frustrations of Windows.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
If you could post all the details we could try to reproduce the problem and see how to solve it.

e.g. short name, long name, and any other details listed in Properties for the shortcut.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top