1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Quickbooks 2007 Pro backup hangup

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by herb1950, Oct 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. herb1950

    herb1950 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Running 2007 on a Dell machine with windows xp.

    2 days ago after attempting to backup, got a message about data error - no backup.

    Backing up freezes program at 99% complete and I need to use task manager to end task.

    Trying to rebuild data does not work, because it requires a backup first and that is where the program stalls.

    Does anybody have a similar experience or a work around?

    Right now last good backup was 2 days ago.

    Thank you for your help.

    Herb
     
  2. idowindows

    idowindows

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    550
  3. herb1950

    herb1950 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you for the link.

    However, we back up to a server in the office and we still cannot get around the need to back-up before rebuilding data.

    It appears that the corruption occurred when we downloaded payroll update.

    Thanks again,

    Herb
     
  4. medic17506

    medic17506

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    272
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Interesting problem...

    Have you tried to create a Portable Company File and restoring it? This basically re-indexes the QuickBooks database which could potentially solve the data corruption. My next question is how large is your data file (Ctrl+1 or F2 within your QuickBooks file will give your this information?)

    Let us know...

    Thanks,

    Brandon Morris
    Barons', Inc.
     
  5. herb1950

    herb1950 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Brandon,

    Did not try to go the portable file route.

    Basically, I bit the bullet and restored. After that re-entered all transactions.

    Compared to 2004 version, 2007 is a nightmare.

    The file size is 250084k

    Thanks for the suggestion.

    Herb
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/643845

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice