QuickBooks vs. Peachtree

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nwinchel

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
59
Could someone who has used both enlighten me as to any significant differences? I am familiar with QB Pro but am considering an opportunity to work with Peachtree.

I was wondering if the learning curve would be steep moving from one to the other.

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Why would the learning curve be that high? They are both accounting packages.
 

nwinchel

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
59
Originally posted by Rockn
Why would the learning curve be that high? They are both accounting packages.
I tend to agree but a potential employer who is not tech-savvy seems to think that someone with QuickBooks experience "may not be able to handle" Peachtree.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Has nothing to do with anything technical....it's a piece of software...any good accountant can run it.
 

nwinchel

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
59
Originally posted by Rockn
Has nothing to do with anything technical....it's a piece of software...any good accountant can run it.
And if you're not an accountant but have some decent number and software skills? (I've known "accountants" who could barely find their way around an Excel spreadsheet.)
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
I think this is more of an issue of actually functionality and steps to complete specific tasks. It's obvious that nwinchel will already know all of the concepts and theories. It's figuring out how to do them that's the question. I don't doubt nwinchel will be able figure it out but how long will that take to become familier and proficient on the new software? Hopefully someone here has used both packages.

It would be like someone who's used to using Outlook Express and then switching them to Eudora or something. They both serve the same functions and probably have the same options but it's going to be different until you get used to it. How to find an option off the top of your head in OE wasn't a problem but now you'd need to look for it in Eudora.
Ok, maybe not a good comparison but you know what I mean!!!
:D
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
Messages
4
Have a good back up running. I don't work directly with Peachtree, but I work with a company the supports it. If your Network isn't exactly right or they are using an older version the database is prone to corruption. Interms of eas of use if you have an MCSE then you should be good to go as far as learning the program.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top