1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Quicktime and Flash Player failed installations

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by LefkyTheShin, Nov 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LefkyTheShin

    LefkyTheShin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,

    A few months ago I've been having issues with attempting to install Flash Player and QuickTime. I'm currently using Firefox 7.0 and Internet Explorer 8 as a backup browser. In Firefox, the installation works, but whenever I restart the computer, it requires another installation. Whenever I attempt an IE installation, I get the "failed to register" message, citing problems with the ActiveX control. Prior to all this, I hadn't any problems with either browser's handling the Flash Player. I've tried several corrective methods online, but nothing seems to fix the problem.
    I've also had issues with QuickTime installs; install attempts have been met with the "Error 46: Could not load or find the QuickTime ActiveX control" message.

    The ActiveX control seems to be the culprit in both cases and I'm beginning to suspect it might be a registry problem, but I'm not sure. I'm a bit at wit's end with this and would appreciate any help correcting it. I've listed my computer's specs in my profile in case you need any of that info.

    Thanks,

    Lefky
     
  2. pip22

    pip22

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,536
  3. LefkyTheShin

    LefkyTheShin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Yeah, I usually run a system scan whenever I'm at the computer, sometimes a few times a day just to be secure. I currently have Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2011 and so far it hasn't detected any threats. Should I repost my original question above on the malware removal section?
     
  4. Firebreather

    Firebreather

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5,068
    Have you disabled the plug-ins by any chance?
     
  5. LefkyTheShin

    LefkyTheShin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    The only plug-in that I have enabled right now is the Yahoo! Toolbar. Should I disable that?
     
  6. Firebreather

    Firebreather

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5,068
    I don't think that would be necessary.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Quicktime Flash Player
  1. HeshamRashwan
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    377
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025910

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice