1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Quirky little annoyances

Discussion in 'Site Help, Feedback, & Announcements' started by SavvyLady, Dec 23, 2001.

Advertisement
  1. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Hi everyone...
    Tech Guy
    You know... I'm not sure whether computers have made me lazy or whether its the computers have put me in 'mind set" mode...
    But at any rate... I have a quirky little thing that I want to gripe about.
    I have tried several ways to work around this & have even changed my desktop size to see if that would help.
    I think it did w/ one thing but not the others.

    When I reset the # of items per page in a forum that I can view.... I often go back & change it again cause.... "I can't find a comfort zone" meaning...
    When you scroll the length of 20 post & then scroll back up to get out of that thread it becomes very annoying in a few hrs. I change mine to 5 or even 10 & then the original post from the thread starter is lost back on page 1 when Im on 3 or more.
    Now after careful consideration, I think I have come up with a simple cure for this problem.

    TechGuy... can you add a simple link button at the bottom of the thread that takes you back to the top? That way I for one will not mind if there is 40 in my list & I want be switching page to post , waiting for it to reload , so I can also post.
    Now, Im not sure anyone else is having this problem... maybe its just me . This would fix two problems at once for me.
    Changing the display size helped me when posting for having to scroll up & down to find the post buttons... now they are within closer proximity to the overall post. I went from 800 X 600 to 1024 X 768... made things more compact . which
    works better here for me :) of course the row of buttons .... users CP... all the way to Home ......would be nice.... but just one
    "Back to the Top" is all I think we really need

    So, am I being silly & lazy folks?
     
  2. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    Hi SavvyLady

    I'm not sure what you are asking but you can use the HOME and END keys to get to the top or bottom of a page of posts almost instantly.
     
  3. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    How do you get back to the top? Not instantly & "to the End"?? you mean " Go to first unread post "? Thats takes me to mid page most times.

    Its just when you have read to the bottom. or jumped to first unread post....then no matter what or how many... you have to scroll all the way back to the top. Where as if there was a button said to the top... .......... you see?

    just a quirk I have.. not necessarily anyone else.
    Except for this... the forum works great.








    ( arthritis or one of the Itis brothers is messing with me )
     
  4. casper03

    casper03

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    272
    not related just wanted to say hi savy lady
    hope all is well with you ?
     
  5. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    well hello casper... gee you are a friendly ghost....lol
     
  6. casper03

    casper03

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    272
    well i try to be :
    with the right people lol
     
  7. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Now just cause Im an angel & you are a ghost... does that mean we are kindred spirits....LOL
     
  8. casper03

    casper03

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    272
    it also doesn't mean we are not rofl
     
  9. anglin_fool

    anglin_fool

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,100
    hey SavvyLady,

    I had the same prob of having to scroll to the top of the threads to move on to the next thread. Then I found a link at the bottom of the page on all the threads:

    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=303654">

    I just hit the "go" button and it takes me to the "forum list"? (for lack of a better term.

    Is that why you are scrolling up?

    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=292599"><FONT FACE="Comic Sans MS" SIZE="5"><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">H</FONT><FONT COLOR="#007F00">a</FONT><FONT COLOR="#FF00FF">p</FONT><FONT COLOR="#0000FF">p</FONT><FONT COLOR="#009B4E">y</FONT><FONT COLOR="#7F7F00"> </FONT><FONT COLOR="#8A008A">H</FONT><FONT COLOR="#007F00">o</FONT><FONT COLOR="#000000">l</FONT><FONT COLOR="#00C600">i</FONT><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">d</FONT><FONT COLOR="#007F00">a</FONT><FONT COLOR="#000000">y</FONT><FONT COLOR="#7F0000">s</FONT><FONT COLOR="#7F0000"> </FONT><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">!</FONT><BR><FONT COLOR="#FF0000"></FONT><FONT COLOR="#000000"></FONT></FONT> </b></FONT>
     
  10. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    hey there.... I knew that was there but honestly have never tried it.... will get back to you

    ok I just tried it... whereas its not exactly what I had in mind... it will work, but it takes an extra click... but I'd rather do that than scroll all the time.

    Thanks Anglin Fool for pointing that out to me.



    are you posting the Christmas thing in every post you make???
     
  11. anglin_fool

    anglin_fool

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,100
    hey SavvyLady,

    na, I was in the mood that time.
     
  12. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Savvy

    I'm just lurking... :)

    You don't need the =red and =4 in the closing tags


    edit.. I see you got it :)

    buck
     
  13. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    still working on it Buck... I want it to show color & be bigger
     
  14. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    I don't think you can use HTML in your sig...You have to use vB code..Chris was talking about this somewhere but I can't find it right now
    You had it the first time except you needed to drop the =red and =4 in the closing tag

    click my quote button and have a look

    Happy Holidays Everyone

    buck
     
  15. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Im getting there now.... Thanks buck










    :D :D :D :D :D :D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62660

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice